Whyte strikes to clinch it for Ciaran’s

Keen Print Roscommon MFC Division 2 Final: St. Ciaran’s 1-12 St. Faithleachs 1-11

A late goal for St. Ciaran’s was decisive in this entertaining Division 2 Minor Final played in Ballyforan last Sunday. Indeed, St. Faithleach’s were the better team in the opening half but a determined St. Ciaran’s never gave up and they got their reward.

Jordan Donlon got Faithleach’s goal from the penalty spot in the 11th minute after he himself was fouled.

  But Darragh Mullen and Ronan Dowd were in accurate point scoring form and St. Ciaran’s were always in touch.

 Indeed the Ciaran’s goalkeeper James Brandon had an excellent game pulling off some brilliant saves.

  Liam Ormsby and Daniel Foley were doing well for Faithleach’s and there was never much between the teams in an exciting second half. With five minutes to go, Adam Whyte struck for a vital goal for St. Ciaran’s and Darragh Mullen’s free shortly after saw Ciaran’s two up. Stephen Walsh did get a point in the 60th minute for Faithleach’s but Ciaran’s hung on for a famous win.

St. Ciaran’s: J Brandon: A Farrell, B Maloney, C Gately; K Walsh, A Whyte (1-0), O Lyons; M Browne, D Mullan (0-7); C Murray, R Dowd (0-7), C Crehan; P Gaffey, B Fallon, C Lavin. Subs: J Killian for Lavin, B McGahon for Gaffey, J Kerr for Murray.

  St. Faithleach’s: E Tynan; M Gill, L Parker, C Mangan; G Carberry, K Nerney, R Trimble; D Foley (0-2), S Walsh (0-1); J Browne, D Nerney (0-1), D Cox; L Ormsby (0-3), J Donlon (1-2), C Smyth (0-1). Sub: C Kenelly (0-1) for Browne.

Referee: Aaron Clogher.