Westport clinch title

Connacht Junior II League Creggs ……………………… 10 Westport …………………… 18 Unbeaten throughout the season, Westport duly clinched the league title when they overcame a brave and determined Creggs side after a tough entertaining  game at The Green last weekend. Both sides attempted to move the ball at all times and it led to an excellent game.   Creggs took an early lead with a Dave Flahive penalty well kicked from close to the half-way line but almost immediately Westport were level when  they forced a penalty under the posts to leave the sides level 3-3 at half time.    Westport scored a well taken try and a penalty in the early  stages of the second half to lead 11-3 and then the Westport left winger tore through the Creggs defence to score a brilliant try and suddenly it was 17-3 to Westport. However Creggs stormed back into the game and they were rewarded when Ben Kilcommins got in under the Westport posts for a good try and Dave Flahive’s conversion left the score 18-10. Creggs pressed hard from there to the finish but Westport held out to ensure victory and the  league title for them. Westport deserve the title and to go through the seson unbeaten was a great achievement. For Creggs Mike Fleming Conor Duignan Alan Ward and Ben Kilcommins were best. Creggs: Sean Ryan, Pat Cunningham, Mike Fleming, Dave Fleming, Damien Cahill, Ronan Kelly, Conor Duignan, Pat Coffey, Larry Mannion, Declan Conboy, Ben Kilcommins, Enda Kilcommins, Alan Ward, Ja Hughes, Mark Hester, Padraig McKeague, John Comiskey, Robbie Keenan   Creggs play Loughrea in the Division 1B final on Sunday next with both teams already promoted to Division 1A for next season, the game will decide who takes the title.   There are still a limited number of tickets available for the Creggs RFC draw which will be held this Friday night which will be held at Galway Sportsgrounds as part of the club’s ‘Night at the Dogs’ fundraiser. See above. Fixture this Sunday 30th March:Creggs v Loughrea at Ballinslsoe RFC at 3pm.