Two local schools complete SEF-DEIS in Excellence Fund

Dr Jude Lohan (Deputy Principal, Roscommon Community College), Colm Ó Murchú (Department of Education, Post-Primary Inspector), Ms Georgina Martin (RCC Head of Maths Department), Dr Úna Feeley (Principal, St Coman’s Wood Primary School), and Brian Mac Giolla Phádraig (Department of Education, Assistant Chief Inspector) pictured on Monday, May 22nd 2023, at a Shared Learning Day held in the Dublin West Education Centre.

Roscommon Community College Post Primary School and St Coman’s Wood Primary School staff and students recently completed the School Excellence Fund. The DEIS (Delivering Equality of Opportunity in Schools) Excellence Fund is an initiative implemented by the Department of Education and Skills in Ireland.

The fund is designed to support schools in providing additional resources and targeted interventions to improve student educational outcomes. The Excellence Fund is one component of the DEIS programme and focuses specifically on promoting excellence and raising achievement levels in these schools.

The fund provides additional financial resources to eligible DEIS schools, which they can utilise to implement innovative projects, initiatives, and interventions. These projects are intended to enhance teaching and learning, improve student engagement and well-being, and raise educational standards within the school community. Both schools received a joint bursary of €50,000 to develop numeracy through critical thinking and problem-solving as they transition from the primary school maths curriculum to the secondary school maths curriculum.

Their research over the five years of the project provided valuable insights and strategies in the area of mathematical teaching and learning that greatly assisted the students in both schools in their mathematical education.

Thanks were extended to the principals and teachers of the 26 primary schools in County Roscommon, fifth and sixth class teachers in St Coman’s Wood, Aisling McNeill, Mary Clare Maher, Niamh Fallon and Kate Crehan, the Principal of Roscommon Community College, Georgina Keena, and the RCC maths teachers Laura Fleming, Joanne Cleary, Mak Hounat, Salome Egan, Yvonne Doyle, Elizabeth Glancy.