Town on the double in Lecarrow!



The Herald Premier Division Cup Final: Ballinasloe Town 2 Moore United 0

Ballinasloe Town’s fine end of season form held up to see them claim the Premier Division Cup at Lecarrow last Saturday night. Following their dramatic Connacht Cup win a week previously, Ballinasloe dealt with the challenge of Moore United without much fuss to claim more silverware.

  ‘The Town’ took the lead in the 20th minute when Mark Duffy was fouled in the penalty area and top scorer Eoin McCormack fired home from the spot. Moore threatened a couple of times after that but Ballinasloe doubled their lead in the 35th minute when David Grehan scored with a fine header.

  Moore were probably the better side in the second half in terms of possession but they could not penetrate a solid looking Ballinalsoe rearguard and a second major cup win in the space of six days was the predictable outcome.

Ballinasloe Town: P Maloney, G Egan, J Woods, D Hope, G Canavan, K Kenny, S Duffy, M Duffy, D Cullen, D Grehan, E McCormack. Subs: J Maloney for McCormack, S Tracey for Grehan.

Moore United: D Keenan, S Mulvey, E Kenny, R Keogh, S Pettit, P Kelly, D Concannon, D Harrington, M Butler, D O’Brien, K Brennan. Subs: M Duignan for Butler, G Kelly for Mulvey, I Duffy for Kenny.

Referee: Shane O’Brien.