Top competition at Elphin Show

Good crowds, top quality competitions and attractions for all the family were the ingredients which led to a successful Elphin Show 2007. From early morning, competitors from all corners of Ireland made their way to the venue at Elphin Mart on Saturday last. Competition was of a high standard in the pedigree cattle, commercial cattle and horse classes and as always, the home produce classes proved very popular. Among the winners in the horse section were Michael Cummins from Glenamaddy, Padraig Bohan from Mohill, Mary Mulligan from Mount Pleasant Strokestown and Pat Carty from The Piegeons, Athlone. The Champion Horse of the Show was owned by Michael Harte from Riverstown and he received the John Duffy Memorial Cup, while Jim Colohan from Laurencetown, Ballinasloe owned the Reserve Champion. Prize for the Champion Pony went to Sarah Judge, Aghamore, Sligo, and she won the Paddy McDermott Memorial Cup, named after the father of the Show Chairman Cyril McDermott. The reserve champion went to Gerry Fennell In the cattle section, the prize for the Champion Angus went to Tommy Shryane from Rooskey, Ballaghaderreen, while Kevin Diffley from Bornacoola won the reserve prize. The Shorthorn champion was won by Michael Gunne, with Tommy Shryane coming second. The Champion Simmental at the show was owned by Paddy Hennelly from Rosses Point in Sligo, while the reserve champion went to Joe Jordan of Bonniconlon. The Mattie Dockery Perpetual Cup for the champion pedigree Charolais male went to Tom Farrell of Aughnacliffe, Co. Longford, while local man Tony Bosquette from Castlenode, Strokestown won the prize for the best female Charolais. Tony also won the prize for the Champion Charolais and the Supreme Champion Charolais, with the Reserve Champion going to Elaine Hennelly. Among the winners in the commercial cattle section were David McMahon from Lavally, Strokestown, Eddie Cunningham from Strokestown, Fergus Lavin from Tibohine and John Gormley and Padraig Butler from Elphin. Eddie Cunningham won the overall champion prize in this section. James Reilly from Granard won the Champion sheep, while the prize for the reserve champion went to Laura and Matt Connell, from Ballymore, Granard. In the home produce section, prizes were won by Paul Butler from Carrow, Elphin, Kathleen McDermott, Kilvoy, Mantua, Michael McCormack from Ballinagare, Matt Flanagan from Williamstown, Bernadette Metcalf from Hillstreet and Carmel Ames from Elphin. Delia Owens from Kildallogue, Strokestown is a well-known winner in the cookery section at local shows and it was no different in Elphin where she took first and second prize for both apple and rhubarb tarts. Prizes were also won by Marie Neary from Carrow, Elphin and Elizabeth O’Flynn from Hillstreet. Eamon McCormack won a large number of prizes in the handcrafts section. The art, photography and junior cookery sections were all well contested, with lots of local winners featuring in these sections. The night came to a close with the Show Dance and the crowing of Elphin Show Queen, with this year’s title going to Deirdre Hynes from Mantua.