Three Roscommon schools selected for Safe Routes to School Programme

Minister Naughton announces Round Two of the Safe Routes to School Programme. Photo: Andrew Downes xposure.

Minister of State at the Department of Transport, Hildegarde Naughton TD, joined the National Transport Authority and Santa Claus this week to announce that 108 schools will be included in the Safe Routes to School Programme.

The Safe Routes to School Programme aims to create safer walking and cycling routes within communities, alleviate congestion at the school gates and increase the number of students who walk or cycle to school by providing improvements to walking and cycling facilities. The launch of the second round of the programme will see over 37,000 students across Ireland benefit from safer infrastructure and encourage them to cycle, walk and wheel to school.

Three schools in Roscommon were selected for round two of the Safe Routes to School Programme, including Scoil na nAingeal Naofa in Boyle, St Attracta’s National School in Ballaghaderreen, and St Michael’s and St Patrick’s National School in Clegna.

Speaking from her home county of Galway at the launch of the second round of the programme, Minister Naughton TD said: “I am delighted to be able to bring some festive cheer to schools nationwide by confirming that thousands more children nationwide will soon benefit from safer infrastructure which will allow them to walk, cycle and scoot to school every day.

“In recent months, I have had the privilege of visiting schools across the country and have seen first-hand the positive impact that Safe Routes to School projects are having on our children’s daily lives. During these visits, the message was loud and clear that there is a huge appetite for the continued rollout of the programme in our villages, towns, and cities across the country.

“Now, having secured the necessary funding as part of Budget 2023, it is great to see the programme continue to go from strength to strength”.