Thirty-three candidates contend for eighteen seats




A total of thirty-three candidates are contesting the local elections in Roscommon this week (Friday, 24th of May) with eighteen seats up for grabs in three electoral areas.

  Athlone, Boyle, and Roscommon Municipal Districts will each return six councillors.

  There are twenty-nine male candidates and just four female candidates. Fianna Fáil are fielding nine candidates, Fine Gael six, Sinn Fein three, the HAC one, and there are a further fourteen Independent candidates.

  The people will also vote in the European Parliament elections for the Midlands North-West constituency, to which four MEPs will be elected.

  Polling stations countywide will open at 7 am on Friday and remain open until 10 pm.

  The process of counting of votes will commence on the Dr. Hyde Centre, Roscommon at 9 am on Saturday morning. The Returning Officer is Mr. Shane Tiernan.

            Your candidates, your choice – The candidates contesting the local elections in County Roscommon on Friday, 24th of May are:




Athlone: 6 seats

Ivan Connaughton (Independent)

Laurence Fallon (Independent)

Ger Grehan (Fine Gael)

Malachy Hand (Fianna Fáil)

Joe Harney (Sinn Féin)

Seamus Kelly (Fianna Fáil)

John Keogh (Fianna Fáil)

Donal Kilduff (Independent)

Derek McCabe (Independent)

John Naughten (Fine Gael)

Tony Ward (Independent)

Boyle: 6 seats

Valerie Byrne (Independent)

Liam Callaghan (Fine Gael)

Tom Crosby (Independent)

John Cummins (Fianna Fáil)

Sajjad (Saj) Hussain (Independent)

Michael Patrick Mulligan (Sinn Féin)

Joe Murphy (Fianna Fáil)

Mary O’Donnell (Independent)

Andrew Reynolds (Fine Gael)

Aidan Sampey (Fianna Fáil)

Keith Suffin (Fine Gael)

Roscommon: 6 seats

Gerry Coffey (Fine Gael)

Domnick Connolly (Independent)

Nigel Dineen (Independent)

Paschal Fitzmaurice (Fianna Fáil)

John Groarke (Independent)

Orla Leyden (Fianna Fáil)

Marty McDermott (Fianna Fáil)

Padraig Morris (Independent)

Séamus O’Brien (Sinn Féin)

Kathleen Shanagher (Independent)

Anthony (Tony) Waldron (Independent)