The Town are up for the cup!




A 70th minute Liam Lynch goal was enough to send Ballinasloe Town through the final of the Hanly Quarries Premier Division Cup  following a hard-fought tussle with old rivals Castlerea Celtic in Castlerea last Saturday night.

  Lynch kept his composure to steer home a Mark Duffy cross to set up a meeting with the winners of Ballymoe FC and St. Peter’s FC.

  Meanwhile, St. John’s Athletic are going up! The Lecarrow outfit sealed promotion back to the Raftery’s Oakland Hotel Premier Division following their 1-0 win over Cloonfad United in Lecarrow on Sunday, Thomas Hurley the scorer after 55 minutes.

  Roscommon United remain on course for a very successful year following their convincing 3-0 win over Skyvalley Rovers B in the Topline Ward’s Division Two Cup Semi-Final, played in the bright lights of Taughmaconnell last Friday night.

  The hosts started brightly but United took control of the tie as the game wore on and top scorer Jamie Bracken opened the scoring five minutes before half-time.

  Skyvalley went in search of an equaliser in the second half but it was the visitors who doubled their lead when Christy Leahy appeared to score direct from a corner kick. One for the dubious goals panel as Paul Allen may also have got a touch. Carl Garvin then coverted a late penalty to complete the scoring and seal United’s place in the final. There was still time for Skyvalley to miss a late opportunity for a consolation goal when Brendan Meleady’s powerful penalty was brilliantly saved by Adam Bracken.

  United march on to Friday week’s final against the winners of Glen Celtic and Cloonfad United B (this Friday) before they complete their season with a promotion/relegation play-off.

  Elsewhere, Moylough ’79, Ballaghaderreen FC and CP Ajax all booked their places in the semi-finals of the Norio’s Takeaway Division One Cup on Sunday. Moylough overcame a determined Cam Celtic side 4-2 thanks to goals from Matthew Finn, Mike Foley, Pierce Townsend and Finbarr Hughes. Cam had taken the lead by means of an own goal but Shane Dolan’s free kick in the closing stages was but a late consolation for Cam.    

Ballaghaderreen FC got the better of Dunmore Town thanks to Chris Dunne’s strike after just nine minutes.

  Rahara Rovers and CP Ajax went all the way to a penalty shootout in their quarter-final. With no goals in normal time or extra-time, successful spot-kicks from Ciaran Harkin, Ryan Larkin, Timmy Fitzmaurice and Darragh O’Rourke saw CP Ajax through 4-2 on penalties.

  In other news, the Roscommon & District Masters (over 35s) League will commence on May 11th. Applications are currently being accepted up until May 5th. For more information email

  The Roscommon & District Football League extends its sympathies to the families and friends of the late PJ Keogh, Athlone and Sandra McCrann, Boyle. As a mark of respect both St. Peter’s FC and Boyle Celtic games were postponed last weekend. May they rest in peace.