The Sporting Brief – March 30th




All-Ireland defeats

The Roscommon representatives in the 40×20 Junior Doubles All-Ireland were defeated at the semi-finals stage last weekend.

  In Ballaghaderreen, Lisacul’s Sean Jennings and Denis Creaton were well beaten by Kerry’s Jack O’Shea and Rory O’Connor. In a match that was regarded as 50/50 beforehand, the Kerry pair ran out 21-12, 21-6 winners.

  In St. Coman’s, the ladies doubles pairing of Linda Connolly and Siobhan Tully were defeated 3-21, 5-21 by Tipperary’s Sinead Meagher and Roisin Cahill.

  Elsewhere, Mount Talbot’s Aisling and Siobhan Treacy performed well in the 40×20 Girls U-15 Doubles All-Ireland. They were eventually beaten in the final, losing 0-15, 9-15 against Cork’s Celine Kelleher and Muireann O’Brien.

  Roscommon had four representatives in the 40×20 Juvenile ‘B’ Connacht finals, all from Lisacul.

  Sinead McGreal and Roisin McDonagh’s U-12 doubles match was rescheduled. Ava McGreal won her U-11s singles match against Galway’s Amy Duggan on a scoreline of 15-0, 3-15, 15-13.

  However, Joseph Noonan was beaten 3-15, 6-15 by Galway’s Christopher Hanley at U-12s and Evan Corrigan and Kevin Doherty went down 11-15, 11-15 to Galway’s Ethan Kyne and Ben Magee.


Winter winning!

We start our weekly round-up in Athlone where Yvonne Walsh, Catherine Fitzgerald (Captain), Kathleen McDonnell, Frances McGettigan and Mary McHale won the Winter League with 67 points. Cathyrn Mannion, Lily O’Sullivan (Captain), Helen King, Margaret Geoghegan and Kay Delaney were runners-up while Maeve Holmes won the Leading Qualifier.

  Elsewhere, Michael Ryan (40 points) won the Gent’s Shamrock Special, Garry O’Connor (38 points) took the 3 Club 18-hole, Ger O’Kennedy (33 points) claimed the Wednesday Open, and Margaret Geoghegan (24 points) won the Ladies’ 12-hole stableford.

  The Boyle round of the Holmpatrick Cup was played last Sunday. In first place were Shane Loftus and Paddy McLoughlin with 44 points, just pipping Michael Rush’s and Michael Gilmartin’s 43 points. Shane and Paddy will go forward to the county final. Third place went to Patrick Egan and Lorcan Egan, who also had 43 points. The men’s weekly Thursday competitions resume on Thursday, April 5th. In the same week the men’s section take on our neighbours from Ballaghaderreen in the first inter-club match of the year.   

  To Castlerea next where Kay O’Loughlin won the recent ladies’ competition, just ahead of Patricia Callaghan. Jim McDonnell won the men’s competition with Peter Hester in second.

  We finish in Roscommon where Declan Browne won the men’s 18-hole singles competition with 40 points. Michael Connaughton (38) was second, gross went to Mario Costello (38) and Simon Walker won the junior prize (39).


Tight semi-finals

Molly’s take a narrow 5-4 first leg lead to The Holly Tree this Friday in the cup while The Forge have it all to do in their second leg in Elphin having lost their first leg 3-6 to An Bothar Rua.

  In the Shield, The Hollywood lead 6-3 against Creaton’s ahead of the return leg in Roscommon town and Flanagan’s must claw back a 3-6 deficit when they host McDermott’s.

  It’s still all to play for with the winners going through to the county finals on Saturday, April 7th at Hannon’s Hotel.