The Sporting Brief – March 23rd




Harriers’ 5k Series!

Roscommon Harriers Athletic Club will once again host their annual 5k race series this April. The series runs over four Fridays in April with a start time of 7.30 pm for each race.

  Start and finish lines are located at the entrance to race HQ, Hannon’s Hotel in Roscommon town. Register on the evening from 6.30 – 7.20 pm or online with Pop-Up Races. For more information, check out Roscommon Harriers on Facebook.


Connacht double!

Denis Creaton made it a Connacht double in the 40×20 Junior grade when he and Sean Jennings beat Galway’s talented youngsters Seamus Conneelly and Diarmuid Mulkerrins last Friday night.

  Playing in Ballaghaderreen, the Roscommon pair imposed themselves early and won 21-11, 21-14.

  Roscommon handball fans are in for a treat this Sunday when two of the greatest handballers ever play in St. Coman’s. Cavan’s five-time world champion Paul Brady and Michael Finnegan, who have won eleven Senior All-Ireland doubles together, will be defending their title.

  Following that, Meath’s Tom Sheridan, who has won more All-Ireland doubles titles than anyone in history, will team-up with Brian Carroll in the hope of landing yet another title.


Forge first!

The Forge finished top of the Roscommon Darts League thanks to a 7-2 win over Flanagan’s last Friday. A 7-2 win for An Bothar Rua over The Hollywood Bar ensured they leapfrogged Flanagan’s to take fourth spot. An Bothar Rua took fourth by one point as an 8-1 win for McDermott’s against Creaton’s had put them in contention to overtake the Elphin men. The Holly Tree beat Molly’s 5-4 to finish one place ahead of them in second.

  The top four teams in the league will now compete for the cup, with the bottom four competing for the shield.

  Cup Semi-Finals: Molly’s v The Holly Tree, Forge v An Bothar Rua. Shield Semi-Finals: McDermott’s v Flanagan’s, Creaton’s v The Hollywood. Home advantage to first team listed in the first leg. The first leg is this Friday (23rd) with the second leg the following week.


Winter League winners

We tee-off in Athlone where team Ros Glos triumphed in the Men’s Winter League. Alan Hough, Declan Murphy, Mark Connelly, Declan Flannery and Captain Mike Glynn from Ballinasloe won the final 3-2 against locals John Duggan, Ned Broughall, Martin Fitzgibbon, Ray Fagan and Gerry Rowland.

  In the White Elephant competition last week, Eleanor Larkin (24 points) pipped Cathryn Mannion on a count back. The AWGS was won by T Meaghar and the ladies’ 97 Club was won by Lily O’Sullivan.

  To Castlerea, where Mary Kenny (35 points) beat Kay O’Loughlin by the narrowest of margins to claim the recent ladies’ competition.

  In Roscommon, Noreen O’Grady claimed the senior ladies’ competition ahead of Kay Ruane.

  Finally, to Boyle, where the Holmpatrick Cup for gents takes place this Sunday. This is played as a ‘Fourball Betterball’ and the winners will go on to play the other winners from Roscommon.

  The winners in each of the four provinces will then get to play the final at St. Andrews in Scotland. The Holmpatrick is a fundraiser for the National Council for the Blind, and this is its 85th year.