The Sporting Brief – January 26th



Rossies impress!

Roscommon darters were in good form at last weekend’s INDO Singles event in Ennis.

  On Saturday, Thomas Concannon made the last 16 while Mick Egan made it to the semi-finals before going down to eventual winner Michael Meaney.

  On Sunday, Thomas Concannon made the last 31, Gary Concannon reached the last 16 and Mick Egan made the quarter-finals.

  The Roscommon Darts League resumed last weekend and there were some thrilling match-ups.

  Flanagan’s were beaten 5-4 at home to McDermott’s, The Forge enjoyed a 5-4 win at The Hollywood while An Bothar Rua beat The Holly Tree 7-2 and Molly’s were 6-3 winners over Creaton’s.

  This week McDermott’s entertain Molly’s, Creaton’s host The Hollywood, The Forge welcomes The Holly Tree and Flanagan’s travel to An Bothar Rua.


Winter League

We tee-off this week in Athlone where Team 5, under captain Colm Cummins, top the the Men’s Winter League with 557 points. Team 11, under Mike Glynn, are in second with 555 points. Meanwhile, the winner of the recent 15-hole competition was P. McNamara with 32 points after count back.

  The committees have been chosen for the coming year and the management committee is as follows: Captain: Padraig O’Connor; Vice-Captain: Bryan O’Looney; Lady Captain: Margaret Egan; Vice-Lady Captain: Bernie Stapleton; President: PJ Naughton; Vice-President: Mary McHale; Honorary Secretary: Michéal Ó Faoláin; Assistant Honorary Secretary: Lizzy O’Sullivan; Joint Honorary Treasurers: Tom Fitzgerald and Peter Melinn; Course Manager: Denis Earley with committee members Kathleen McDonnell, Cepta McLoughlin, Conor Quilty and Ber Kenny and Trustees Eugene Fayne, Michael Evan and Bree Meagher.

  To Castlerea next, the men’s committee for 2018 is: Gerry McDonagh, Captain; Joe Caulfield, Vice-Captain; Jimmy Joyce, Treasurer; Dara Bruen, Secretary; John Caulfield, Handicap Secretary; Johnny Mahony, Competitions Secretary; Paul Glynn; Peter Hester; Eugene O’Connell and Christy Glynn.

  Castlerea Golf Club would like to extend deepest sympathies to the family of the late Denis Murray, Knockroe. May he Rest in Peace.


County finals

Glenn Walshe is the new 40×20 Over 35 ‘B’ county champion following a 21-12, 21-13 win over Curraghboy’s Padraig Coyle in St. Coman’s last Sunday. Walshe was competing in his first match in two years having recovered from a serious shoulder injury.

  Lisacul’s Denis Creaton beat St. Coman’s’ Oisin Naughton 21-10, 21-12 in the 40×20 junior semi-final last Monday in Ballaghaderreen. He will now face Darren Beatty in the final.

  The Junior ‘B’ final will be a repeat of last year with reigning champion, Gordon Nolan of Lisacul, set to meet St. Coman’s’ Daragh O’Gara.

  Nolan overcame O’Gara’s clubmate, Conor Egan, 21-12, 21-5 in his semi-final while O’Gara beat Curraghboy’s Cathal McHugh 21-8, 21-16 to book his place in the final.