The Sporting Brief – December 7th



Holly Tree top for Christmas

The Holly Tree will remain top for Christmas following their 9-0 demolition of Three Counties last weekend.

  Elsewhere, McDermott’s beat An Bóthar Rua 6-3 and David Concannon and Brendan Mullarkey both had 15-darters.

  Ciaran Hickey had a 14-dart leg during a 5-4 thriller between Flanagan’s and The Hollywood, Flanagan’s just coming out on top.

  Molly’s were 6-3 winners over Creaton’s with Sean Finan hitting a 14-dart leg.

  This week sees the final fixtures ahead of the Christmas break: Flanagan’s v Molly’s, An Bóthar Rua v Creaton’s, The Holly Tree v McDermott’s, The Hollywood Bar v Three Counties.


Heslin and Kearney dominate

We begin in Boyle where Sean Heslin and Tom Kearney have developed a virtual monopoly on 1st and 2nd place in the men’s competitions recently and so it proved again last Sunday.

  Both had 40 points in the 18-hole competition, with Sean just shading it on countback. Paul Connolly came 3rd with 37 points and Patrick Egan had the best gross score.

  The club’s Christmas Bonanza competition takes place on Sunday, December 16th. This is very much looked forward to every year – partly because every participant gets a prize! So if you haven’t had the joy of walking up to receive a prize in 2018, this might be your last chance (even if it is only a selection box).

  The overall club AGM was held in the clubhouse last Sunday and the committee for 2019 was elected. The chairman and men’s captain will be Seamus Gallagher and the incoming ladies’ captain is Regina McLoughlin. Best of luck to all for the coming year.

  To Athlone next, where the men’s 15-hole competition was won by PJ Martin with a great score of 37 points while last week’s Min Hamper was won by David McGowan with another great score of 39 points.

  Eleanor Larkin, meanwhile, won the recent ladies’ 15-hole competition with 29 points while Bernie Watson was the winner of the 9-hole competition with 15 points. Nóirín O’Rourke won the 97 Club with 22 points.

  Last Sunday’s 16-hole Stableford in Roscommon Golf Club was won by Jim Grogan with 35 points while the senior ladies’ competition was won by Kay Ruane. John F Hanley was victorious in the senior men’s competition with 37 points.

  We finish our round in Carrick-on-Shannon where the Christmas Special Alliance will take place on Saturday, December 15th. Elizabeth Muldowney and Dolores Mulvey and Geraldine Conlon have been the recent winners.


Successful Gala

Coman’s Swimming Club recently enjoyed a successful gala at the recent Ballinasloe Development Meet swimming gala.

  Emily Ryan took gold in the B category of the Girls U-11 200m Backstroke while Michelle Henry grabbed silver. Ava Clyne won gold in the C category of the same event while Rebecca Gill and Isobel Kenny took silver and bronze respectively.

  Pierce Fannon took silver in the Boys U-11 200m Backstroke while Theo De Abreu won bronze and achieved B times in both the 200m and 100m. Harry King won gold in the C category.

  Meanwhile, Alan Kilcommons was second fastest in U-13 200m Backstroke and Robert Tobin claimed gold in the U-13 200 IM. Michael Keaveney took silver in the U-11 C 200m Backstroke, and he also took bronze in the C category of the 100m IM. Eoin Morgan swam superbly and was the fastest swimmer in the IM.