The Sporting Brief – December 22nd



Gaffney Tournament

The 9th John Gaffney Memorial Handball Tournament, sponsored by Drury Oils takes place in Ballaghaderreen Handball Club from January 5th to 7th.

  Last year saw a tense tie-break between Galway maverick Martin Mulkerrins and Cork’s Killian Carroll. While it was Carroll who came out on top, this year’s tournament promises to be wide open with the Cork man now living in the USA and not returning to defend his title.

  18 of Ireland’s top 20 handballers are set to attend on January 5th, including current All-Ireland champion Charlie Shanks from Armagh as well as three-time All-Ireland champion Robbie McCarthy from Westmeath.

  The 2018 tournament will see the return of Ballaghaderreen’s Stephen Cooney. After working for a number of years in New York and playing on the American professional handball circuit, Cooney will look to claim the championship named after his childhood coach in the court located less than 500 metres from his home.

  For ticket and other enquiries for this year’s tournament, please contact Padraig Gaffney on 086-8599533.


Prizes galore!

We start our final round of 2017 in Boyle where Shane Loftus won last Sunday’s Christmas Bonanza competition with 32 points with David Purser, Terry Canning and Ross Andrew in second, third and fourth respectively on 31 points each.

  Ruth Hogg won the ladies’ section with Carmel McGarry in second place while third and fourth went to Paula Cull and Moira Egan respectively.

  At the prize-giving Men’s Captain Terry Canning presented Patrick Egan with a trophy for topping the order of merit for Golfer of the Year.

  The golfing year has not yet concluded with a gents’ 9-hole Stableford planned for Christmas Eve and a Christmas 9-hole scramble for ladies and gents on December 27th.

Over to Athlone where a 15-hole open competition for ladies and gents will take place from December 26th to New Year’s Day. Online booking is available.

  Congratulations to prizewinners in the recent Christmas 300 Club Draw: €1250 Eddie Kelly, €300 Assumpta Galvin, €200 Catherine Lenehan, €100 I.C.P.P.D., Bonus Draw Michael J Ryan.

  On the course, Kevin Maguire was the winner of last weekend’s 15-hole stableford with 36 points while John Kelly took Class A, E Kenny took Class B and M O’Faolan took Class C.

  Finally for this week we go to Roscommon where the Golfer of the Year winners were announced last Sunday. Francie Noone is the men’s Golfer of the Year while Yvonne Waldron is the ladies’ Golfer of the Year.

  Sinead Benedetti won the Silver Medal, Patricia O’Gara won the Bronze Medal and Silver Spoon. The Junior Medal was won by Olivia Costello.

  The Curran Cup was won by Fen Thompson and Sheila Fallon, with the runner-up spot going to Annie Timothy and Patricia O’Gara.

  The most recent Turkey Competition winners were Dan O’Brien (December 10th) with 21 points and Alan Craven (17th) with 24 points.