Supersub Regan Strokes late winner

Dermot Hughes Cars U-20 Championship Final
Strokestown 2-5 Padraig Pearses 0-9

Strokestown came with a late surge to deny Padraig Pearses in this inaugural U-20 final played at Pairc an Piarsigh. The home side had dominated a one-sided first half but goals win games, and a three-pointer in each half proved crucial as Strokestown edged home by a two point margin.

  Pearses dominated the first half and they kicked several good points from play and frees with Hubert Darcy, Ronan Daly and Daniel Glynn prominent. But at half-time Strokestown only trailed by three points (0-7 to 1-1) their crucial goal coming from the fist of James Tully.

  Once Strokestown got going in the second half it was a much closer affair Davy Neary and Kealan Beirne points brought Strokestown closer and the crucial goal came from sub Robert Regan with five minutes to play which put Strokestown ahead for the first time and they never looked back after that.

Strokestown: M Beirne; C Kelly, B Foy, D Owens; E Kelly, K Sheil, L Kelly; K Beirne (0-2), J Owens; E O’Beirne, D McGann (0-2), M Kevanagh; D Neary (0-1), J Tully (1-0), K Murphy. Subs: B Neary for O’Beirne, R Regan (1-0) for Tully, C Compton for L Kelly, C Corcoran for Kavanagh, A Convey for C Kelly.

Padraig Pearses: A McManus; T Richardson, M Richardson, G Downey; D Reilly, R Daly (0-2), A Finnerty; T Butler, D Glynn (0-1); C Payne, G Kelly (0-1), L Fehily; L Daly, H Darcy (0-4), K Fehily (0-1).

 Subs: D Kelly for L Daly, E Galvin for D Kelly, J Curley for Fehily, P Whelan for Reilly.

Referee: C McDermott.