Suck Valley Way conference continues today

The inaugural two-day Suck Valley Way Conference continues today (Thursday) at the Abbey Hotel, Roscommon after it was officially launched by Chief Executive of Roscommon County Council, Eugene Cummins yesterday (Wednesday).

  This major conference, organised by the Suck Valley Way Development Co-Op, will feature talks by experts from the areas of industry, enterprise and business, manufacturing and production, tourism, recreation and sport.

  The aim is to highlight and discuss the opportunities present throughout the Suck Valley Way region and to promote tourism and investment in the area.

  Organiser, Cllr. Anthony Waldron, says the event will raise some very important questions and will highlight Co. Roscommon and surrounding areas in terms of tourism opportunities.

  “We have a number of guest speakers confirmed for this event which will highlight not only Roscommon and Galway in terms of the Suck Valley Way region but also other surrounding counties. This week in the Abbey Hotel you will see seven flags representing the counties which border Roscommon. The Suck Valley Way includes not only Roscommon and Galway but also Sligo, Leitrim, Longford, Westmeath and Offaly,” he said.

  “I hope that we have a good turnout and that we receive a supportive response so as to use these discussions and talks as a roadmap for unlocking the potential for this region.

  For more information, contact 086-7866774 or

  Among the items on the agenda for this two-day conference are ‘Regeneration in the west of Ireland’, ‘Unlocking our tourism potential’, ‘Come West Along The Road – employment and enterprise opportunities’, and ‘Building blocks of rural sustainability’.

  Today’s events feature MCs Paul Healy (Roscommon People Managing Editor) and Seamus Duke (RosFM station manager). Keynote speakers include: Colm O’Rourke from the world of sport, Pyers O’Conor Nash of Clonalis House, Jarlath O’Dwyer from Clare Eco Tourism, Michael Tobin (AIT) and Declan Ganley.

  Registration for today’s events takes place at 9.30 am and day two opens from 10 am.