Sporting Flashbacks

5 years ago…..2003 Roscommon GAA Supporters Club in Dublin players of the year for 2002 – Hurling: Dara Mulvey.  Football: Nigel Dineen. Ladies Football: Mary Beades. Ladies National Football League: Roscommon 5-3 Down 2-5.  National Football League Division 1A: Armagh 0-14   Roscommon 0-9 (at Crossmaglen). Roscommon: S Curran; J Whyte, D Casey, Ray Cox; B Higgins, F Grehan, M Beirne; K Mannion, S O’Neill; G Cox (0-3), N Dineen (0-2), G Lohan; F Dolan (0-2), J Dunning, K Lynch. Subs: C Connelly, I Daly, D O’Connor. 10 years ago…..1998 National Football League (Section D): Kildare 1-11 Roscommon 0-11. Roscommon: B Morkan; C Grogan, D Donlon, E Gavin; C Heneghan, C McDonald, M Kelly; A Nolan, G Keane (0-1); J Neary, F Grehan, E Lohan (0-8); L Dowd (0-1), F O’Donnell, N O’Donoghue (0-1). Subs: D Gavin, T Ryan, T Lennon. Connacht Colleges SF A quarter-final: Roscommon CBS 6-9 St. Patricks, Tuam 1-7. Roscommon CBS: E Daly; S Feely, I Collins, J Fitzpatrick; M Costello, E Browne, A Weir; G Kelly, P Noone; D Egan, G Lohan (1-7), K Hegarty (0-1); D O’Gara (1-0), D Costello (4-1), J Hanly. Subs: D Glynn, B Neilan, D Keane. Kennedy Cup: Galway League 0 Roscommon League 0.  U-15 Winter League Division 2 Final: Kilmore 1-12  St. Ciarans 2-6.  AIL Qualifying tournament: Bangor 28 Creggs 16 (Creggs are relegated from the AIL). Creggs: L Daly, J Melia, A O’Halloran, T Allnutt, J Murray, G Dowd, E McHugh, V Collins, N Coen, T Duignan, D Egan, K O’Rourke, H Ward, R Murphy, R Ward, T O’Donnell, M Heavey. 15 years ago…..1993 National Football League (Section D): Meath 2-11 Roscommon 0-8.  Roscommon: D Thompson; L Shiel, P Doorey, E Gavin; J Connaughton, D O’Connor, D Donlon; M Fallon, S Killoran; E McManus Junior (0-1), D Duggan (0-2), T Grehan; L Dolan, L Dowd (0-3), D Washington (0-1). Subs: M Reilly, D Connellan, J Newton (0-2). Connacht Junior League: Creggs 31 Westport 7.  League of Ireland Division 1: Athlone Town 2 Home Farm 2.  Roscommon & District League Premier Division – Skyvalley Rovers led with 20 points after 15 games from CB Trotters who were on 19 points after 12 games. Carrolls were on 17 points after 14 matches.  In handball in the Connacht minor singles 40 x 20 final, Michael McHale of Roscommon beat his Galway opponent in two straight games to claim the title for the second year in a row.