Sporting Flashbacks

5 years ago…..2003 FAI Junior Cup 6th Round Rahara Rovers 0 Ballynanty 1 (AET).  2002 Tansey Cup Final: St. Brigids 1-7 Kilbride 0-4.  AIL Division 1: Buccaneers 18 Cork Con 18.  National Football League Division 1A (at Hyde Park): Roscommon 1-12 Cork 1-11. Roscommon: S Curran; J Whyte, D Casey, A Carberry; A McPadden, F Grehan, J Nolan; K Mannion, B Higgins (0-1); R Cox, S Lohan, G Cox (0-2); N Dineen (0-1), G Lohan (0-3), F Dolan (0-4). Subs: S Shiel, K Lynch (1-1), Ray Cox. 10 years ago…..1998 National Football League (Section D): Cork 0-13 Roscommon 1-6.  Roscommon: B Morkan; C Grogan, D Donlon, E Gavin; C Heneghan, C McDonald, M Kelly; G Keane, A Nolan: L Dowd, J Neary, D Duggan (0-5); F Grehan (0-1), F O’ Donnell, T Grehan (0-1). Subs: T Lennon, N O’ Donohue, T Ryan. Kennedy Cup (U-14 Soccer) Roscommon League 4 Tipperary League 4.  Roscommon & District League Premier Division:  Roscommon town led with 33 points after 14 games, CP Ajax 28 points (14 games), Skyvalley Rovers 24 points from 15 games. Roscommon SFC 1st Round draw: Kilmore v Tulsk, Elphin v Clann na nGael, Strokestown v Oran, St. Dominics v Castlerea, St. Ronans v Shannon Gaels, Padraig Pearses v Roscommon Gaels, St. Aidans v Michael Glaveys, St. Brigids v Kilbride. 15 years ago…..1993 FAI Cup 3rd Round: Galway United 2 Athlone Town  3. Athlone Town: Curran, Darby, Brett, O’Connell, Muldoon, Frawley, Morris-Burke, Wyse, Dowling, Clarke, Keenan.  National Football League (Section D): Roscommon 0-14 Westmeath 0-10 (at Hyde Park). Roscommon: D Thompson; L Shiel, P Doorey, E Gavin; J Connaughton, D O’Connor, M Reilly; S Killoran, M Fallon; V Glennon, D Duggan (0-6), T Grehan (0-3); L Dolan (0-2), L Dowd (0-3), D Washington. Sub: J Newton.  Eamonn Bolger of St. Faithleachs was announced as the new Roscommon county U-16 team manager. St Anthony’s – a combination of  Ballinameen and Western Gaels – agreed to contest the 1993  Roscommon SFC in which there was to be four groups of four teams. Roscommon & District League Premier Division:  Cloonfad Unite 1 Kilkerrin 1, Shiven 1 Cam Celtic 2, Skyvalley 5 Glen Celtic 0.