Sporting Flashbacks

5 years ago…..2003 FAI Junior Cup 5th round: Clooonfad United 1 Newtown (Clare) 1 (Newtown win 4-3 on penalties).  Ladies NFL: Roscommon 4-8 Kildare 2-9. Roscommon: Y Dolan; O Gavin, C Watson, M Keegan; U Brooks, M Beades, A McGeeney; E Mannion, AM Carley (2-0); C Conway, D Dolan, C McCann; G Dowling (0-5), S Carty (2-3), N Beegan.  Subs: A Creighton, O Keogh, C O’Malley, N Fallon, L Tully. Connacht Junior B League: Corinthians 22 Creggs  0.   AIL Division 1: Buccaneers 25 Belfast Harlequins  17.  National Football League Division 1A: Kerry 2-11 Roscommon 0-4 (played in Tralee).  Roscommon: S Curran; J Whyte, D Casey, J Nolan; A McPadden, A Carberry, P Noone; K Mannion, A Nolan; G Cox (0-1), R Cox (0-1), S Lohan (0-1); E Lohan, N Dineen, F Grehan. Subs: F Dolan, D Moran, B Higgins (0-1), I Daly, C Connelly. 10 years ago…..1998 Hastings Cup Final: Donegal 1-11 Roscommon 0-10.  Roscommon: D Dwyer; M Finneran, M Ryan, J Whyte; J Doran, B Burke (0-1), E Collins (0-1); D Kelly, O Brooks (0-6); J Tiernan, M Keena, T Kelly; F McGowan, S Lohan, D Connelly (0-1). Subs: P Cox, P Carroll, K O’Neill. Connacht Colleges SF A Championship: Roscommon CBS 1-11 St. Mary’s Galway  0-10.  Kennedy Cup (U-14 Soccer): Roscommon League 2 Athlone League 0.  Roscommon VEC Sportstars  for 1997: Athletics:  Ian Delaney; Badminton: Margaret Hanly;  Basketball: Geno Mattimoe; Boxing: Carl Quinn;  Camogie: Ann Connell; Community Games: Michael Gibbons; Ladies Football: Brigid Goode;  Golf: Ken Kearney; Soccer: Carmel Ryan; Special Category: John Feeney; Orienteering: Tom Conlon;  Gaelic Football: Tom Og O’Brien; Equestrian: Frank Lannon. Hall of Fame: John Joe Nerney. A ten-point plan to solve differences between Hyde Park Committee/Roscommon Gaels and the County  Board (regarding the future of Dr. Hyde Park) is agreed at a County Board meeting.  15 years ago…..1993 Roscommmon Golf Club announces ambitious plans to increase course size to 18 holes.  Connacht Colleges SF A Championhip: St. Jarlaths 1-16  Roscommon CBS 1-5. Roscommon CBS: P Muldoon; P Hoey, K McDermott, A Hannon; R Rogers, K Keegan, F Hanlon; A Dolan, A Nolan (0-3); L Murray (0-1), C Looby (0-1), M Dalton; J Hoare, S Carty (1-0), E Lohan. Sub: B Regan.  Tansey Cup Final: Oran 1-9 Strokestown 0-6.  Oran: M Kenny; T Regan, M Lawless, P Mullarkey; B Earley, S Staunton (0-1), T O’Brien (0-1); C Kelly, MJ Lawless; P Kenny, L Flynn (0-1), B Donnellan (1-0); M Lennon (0-1), A Kelly (0-4), R Concar (0-1).  Strokestown: P Shiel; A Glover, N Owens, T Beirne; P Collins, R Glover, A Fallon; S Sheil, P Owens; M Compton, J Collins (0-2), S Flannery; G Hagan (0-4), R Dolan, P Beirne. Subs: D McHugh, K Duke.