Smith strikes late as Sligo shock Rossies

Eirgrid Connacht U-20 FC Semi-Final
Sligo 1-12 Roscommon 1-11

Sligo shocked hotly fancied Roscommon to knock the reigning champions out of the U-20 championship following this pulsating semi-final played at Markievicz last night (Wednesday).

  A point from 35 metres from the best player on the field, Eoghan Smith, in the second minute of injury-time saw the scales tip towards the home side as last year’s All-Ireland finalists crashed out of this year’s competition in the first round.

Sligo’s Jack Lavin tugs at Ben O’Carrolls jersey.

   Played on a perfect evening for football, the first half saw fortunes sway in both directions. Roscommon led by three points to one by the 10th minute with Eoin Colleran, Jack Tumulty and Adam McDermott on target. But the home side were soon level with centre half-forward Eoghan Smith outstanding.

  The shooting was very poor from both sides and Roscommon kicked nine wides in the opening half. However, in the 17th minute, an exchange of passes between Oisin and Daire Cregg saw Oisin’s shot saved by Cian Kilcoyne, and Adam McDermott was on hand to force home the rebound. By the 23rd minute Roscommon led by 1-7 to 0-5.

  But Sligo rallied before half-time. In the 25th minute, Jack Davitt was fouled on his way to goal and Lee Deignan blasted the resultant penalty past Darren Quinn, and points from Luke Marren and Eoghan Smith saw the sides go in level at half-time 1-7 apiece.

Adam McDermott puts one in the goal for Roscommon.

  The second half was a turgid affair and neither side assumed dominance in the third quarter. Points from Darragh Cregg and Jack Tumulty saw Roscommon ahead by two (1-11 to 1-9) with 14 minutes to go. But Roscommon were not to score again and Sligo grabbed the initiative. Points from Deignan (a 45) and two wonderful efforts from Smith saw the momentum swing towards Sligo and they held out for a famous win.

  For Roscommon, it was a poor night in front of the posts and a total of 15 wides tells its own story.

Roscommon: Darren Quinn; Conor Lohan, Sean Trundle, Tomas Crean; Patrick Gavin, Caelim Keogh, Brian O’Hara-Duggan; Oisin Cregg (0-1), Daire Cregg (0-2 1 free); Jack Tumulty (0-3), Cathal Feely, Conor Hand; Ben O’Carroll (0-1), Adam McDermott (1-2 1 mark), Eoin Colleran (0-2). Subs: Cian Kelly for Trundle (6), Darragh Heneghan for Feely (36), Cormac Regan for Crean (52), Cian Kelly for O’Hara-Duggan (57),

Sligo: Cian Kilcoyne; Shane Molloy, Conor Johnson, Luke Casserly; Ciaran O’Reilly, Jack Lavin, Canice Mulligan; John Donlon, Joseph Keaney (0-1); Matt Henry, Eoghan Smith (0-7, 2 marks, 1 free), Dylan Walsh (0-1); Luke Marren (0-1), Lee Duignan (1-2, 1-0 pen, 1 free), Jack Davitt. Subs: Oisin Flynn for Henry (29), Mark McGowan for O’Reilly (36), Dylan McLoughlin for Casserly (44), Gavin Duffy for Molloy (46), 

Referee: Thomas Murphy (Galway)