Silver lining for The Town!




Hanly Quarries Premier Division Cup Final

Ballinasloe Town 2

Ballymoe FC 1 AET


Roscommon & District Football League runners-up Ballinasloe Town came good in extra-time of the Premier Division Cup Final last Sunday in Lecarrow when super sub Gary Canavan swung a thrilling final in their favour with a goal and an assist.

  Ballymoe had started well and came close to opening the scoring early on before the game settled down with Ballinasloe Town seemingly gaining a foothold in proceedings.

  With the amount of quality on show however, it was only a matter of time before this game burst to life, and there were few raised eyebrows at the manner in which it did. It was Ballymoe who landed the first blow when Damien Goggins took his tally for the season to 27 with a superb finish from the edge of the Ballinasloe penalty area.

  Ballinasloe were left to chase an equaliser in the seven minutes that remained of the half but Ballymoe ‘keeper Richard Thompson stood firm.

  In fact, Ballymoe could have wrapped this game up in the second half and went close on a couple occasions before Ballinasloe’s inspired substitution.

  With thirteen minutes left, Canavan announced his arrival with a fine equaliser before popping up again early in extra-time to leave Liam Lynch with a tap in to win the cup for Ballinasloe Town.

Ballinasloe Town: Padraig Maloney, Cormack Clogher, Des Hope, Mike Lynch, Declan Duffy, David Cullen, Mark Duffy, Liam Lynch, Mahmood Giumma, Daryl Finn, Joe Woods. Subs: Gary Canavan, Darren Kelly, Aidan Dooney, Kenneth Kenny.

Ballymoe FC: Richard Thompson, Adrian Collins, Dean Muldoon, Aidan Brogan, John Connaughton, Micheal Kenny, Kevin Kilcommins, Keith Muldoon, Daniel Malone, Damien Goggins, Mark Kilcommins. Subs: Joseph Cassidy, James Connaughton, Anthony Feeney, Ross Timothy, Gregory Grogan.

Referee: Keith Reynolds