Sharkey attacks in Roscommon

We start in Roscommon where a Sharkey chased a Finn around the course and eventually rose to the surface on the 20th hole. Congratulations to Michael Sharkey who won the President’s Prize in a classic final against JT Finn.

  Last week’s men’s competition was won by Brian Feeley with 41 points while Mikey Corcoran took the junior prize, Sergio Benedetti (grand Roscommon name!) won the senior men’s and M. Farrell took the senior ladies.

  In Athlone, the Connacht Strokeplay Championship was won by home golfer, Thomas O’Connor. Meanwhile, Eamonn Geoghegan won the Wednesday Open with 47 points.

  In the Cooney’s Pharmacy Open, John Duggan was the winner of the men’s event with 42 points while Denise Lally wwas the women’s winner with 40 points.

  Up in Carrick-on-Shannon, club captain Damien Duignan won the inaugural Ging’s Bar sponsored stroke competition recently, shooting a 66.

  The Carrick Carnival Open was won by James Connors with 42 points ahead of Gary Vesey and Tony McPhilips on 41 and 40 respectively. The women’s event was won by Ann Campbell on 42 points ahead of Eta King and Elizabeth Muldowney.

  In Castlerea, Maura Tully won the most recent competition ahead of Laura Griffin while Kay O’Loughlin beat Maura to the O’Connor Don sponsored competition.

  The Mulvihill Cup was won by Gerry McDonagh ahead of Gerry Keane and the mixed foursomes team were defeated by Roscommon last week.

  In Strokestown, Stephen O’Connor, Philip Duignan, Peter Costello and Richie Cheevers won the annual club classic. Carrick-on-Shannon ladies Phil Emmett, Eta King, Hilary Collins and Geraldine Farry won the ladies prize.

  We have a new venue this week; Glenamaddy. Their outing in Gort went well last week with Padraig Molloy victorious!