Scintillating CBS can go all the way!






Connacht Colleges SF ‘B’ Championship Final

Roscommon CBS 5-22

Summerhill College, Sligo 2-12




In the many years of playing in this competition, Roscommon CBS footballers reserved one of their finest ever performances for this decider at Bekan last Saturday. The Roscommon town school produced an attacking master-class on the day and now they will face next week’s All-Ireland semi-final against St. Patrick’s of Downpatrick with confidence.

  The CBS lads took the game to Summerhill from the off and although to concede 2-12 might be a slight worry to the management, some of their attacking play was out of the very top drawer. Liam Ormsby was the first Roscommon forward to break through for a goal in the 7th minute.

  Summerhill kept in touch with a Joe Spellman goal shortly afterwards but the Roscommon lads were dominant with Albert Looby and Keith Doyle in command at midfield. A string of four unanswered points followed quickly to give the CBS an early advantage. A fine point from the excellent Tim Lambe was followed by the same player scoring his side’s second goal in the 21st minute, and then less than a minute later Jack McGahon fisted home for goal number three.

  Jim Davis provided Summerhill with a glimmer of hope in the 27th minute with a well taken goal but by half-time Roscommon CBS led by a very handsome margin, 3-12 to 2-4.

  The Roscommon lads kept Summerhill at arm’s length in the second half, and at the end of the third quarter they produced some more attacking magic. Cian Murray scored a great goal with seven minutes to go and when Liam Ormsby fired home a penalty two minutes later, it put the icing on the cake.

  It was a classy display from Eoghan Coll’s side who will fear no one and although it’s one step at a time, this Roscommon CBS team are well capable of going all the way.

Roscommon CBS: G Rodrigues; J Browne, C Walsh, J Martin; C Glennon, J Lohan, C Murray (1-4); A Looby, K Doyle (0-2); T Lambe (1-6), C Lawless (0-4), R Walsh (0-2); L Ormsby (2-2), J Fitzpatrick (0-2), J McGahon (1-0). Subs: C Carthy for Looby, M Dunne for McGahon, K Brennan for Lambe, A Hession for Doyle, C McNamara for Ormsby.

Summerhill College, Sligo: J Teape; P Ward, M Connolly-McGowan, S Muldowney; D Williams, T Gavin, C Kevany; L Hogge, O McDonagh; E Smith (0-7), O Geraghty, J Davis (1-3); F Connolly, J Spellman (1-0), K Harte (0-2). Subs: M Walah for Kevany, J Hegarty for Connolly, K Harte for Ward.

Referee: G McMahon