Schools’ funding will save lives – Naughten

Local politicians have welcomed more than €406,000 in CLÁR funding for 32 projects across County Roscommon.

  Minister of State for Regional Economic Development, Michael Ring, announced the funding on Thursday. 

  31 schools in County Roscommon will benefit, as will various community projects.

  Local Minister Denis Naughten said that the funding to improve road safety within the vicinity of schools in Counties Roscommon and Galway will reduce speed and save lives.

  “Over a long number of years, I have pushed various Governments to improve road safety around schools and this investment is a significant step forward in addressing this issue,” he said.

  Senator Frank Feighan was particularly delighted that €40,000 was allocated to Keadue playground.

  Senator Maura Hopkins, who also welcomed the Keadue funding, said that the monies allocated for schools will result in enhanced safety measures being installed such as better signage, road markings, lights and pedestrian crossings.

  However, Fianna Fáil TD for Roscommon/Galway Eugene Murphy TD, while welcoming the allocation of over €400,000 in funding, expressed disappointment that funding for local access roads in the county has been “totally abandoned.”

Where the money is going…

Deputy Eugene Murphy outlined where the monies went: “Some of the biggest allocations went to Ballinagare NS and Elphin NS who both got €30,000 for a pedestrian crossing and warning signs, while Ballaghaderreen NS will receive €25,000 for similar works. Cortober NS will receive €22,000 to help reduce speed from the N4 while Ballyfeeney NS in Strokestown has been allocated €16,000 for safety speed signs and work on road markings. Strokestown Boys NS will also get €25,000 for a pedestrian crossing. There’s €12,500 for Cloonfower NS in Tarmonbarry as well as €10,000 for Whitehall NS and Ballagh NS. There was good news for Keadue Playground with an allocation of over €39,000.”

  Independent Councillor Domnick Connolly expressed a warm welcome for the CLÁR funding for schools. He said the recipients were: Cloonbonniffe School: €2,500; Greaghnafarna: €3,000; Ballinaheglish National School: €2,000; Ballagh National School: €10,000; Granlahan School: €2,500; Athleague National School: €10,000; Castlecoote National School: €14,000; Ballymurray National School: €16,000; Kilteevan National School: €16,000; Roxboro National School: €16,000; Jack and Jill Playgroup, Ballinlough: €14,000.