Scahill strike sends Rossies down

Allianz National Hurling League Division 2B Relegation Play-Off: Mayo 1-16 Roscommon 0-17

A dramatic goal in the final minute of play from Mayo sub Corey Scahill, broke the hearts of Roscommon and consigned them to relegation to Division 3A of the National Hurling League following this well contested play-off at Elvery’s MacHale Park last Saturday evening.

  Roscommon were the better side on the balance of play but they shot 13 wides and they could never get enough ahead of Mayo to be comfortable and they paid the price in those final minutes.

  Mayo started better and led by three points early on but once Roscommon got going they dominated the game. Shane Curley was on song from the placed ball and Eamon Flanagan and Cathal Kenny were also playing well up front. By half-time Roscommon were ahead by 0-9 to 0-7.

  Roscommon continued to dominate on the restart and Johnny Kelly’s men led 0-15 to 0-9 with 15 minutes to go and were looking good for victory. But as Roscommon tired Mayo edged back into contention with Kenny Feeney on fire from play and frees.

  Then, in the final minute of normal time, Mayo sub Scahill struck for the vital goal after a mix-up in the Roscommon defence. Kenny Feeney followed up with a Mayo point, and despite Eamon Flanagan’s late effort, Roscommon ran out of time and now they face the prospect of Division 3A hurling in 2018.

  Roscommon play Down in the opening round of the Christy Ring Cup away from home on 22nd April.

Mayo: D Frayne; N Morley, G McManus, B Hunt (0-1); C Freeman (0-1), D Kenny, S Morley; K McDermott, J Cotter; P Hickey, K Feeney (0-10), S Regan (0-1); J McManus (0-1), D McLoughlin (0-1), S Boland (0-1). Subs: C Scahill (1-0), for Hickey, E McLoughlin for Cotter, D McTigue for Boland, D Harrison for McManus.

Roscommon: D Dowd; A Moore, P Nolan, P Kellehan;  J Kilkenny (0-1), M Byrne, P Kelly; T Seale, S Curley (0-5); C Dolan (0-1), E Flanagan (0-4), N Connaughton (0-1); J Coyne, G Fallon (0-1), C Kenny (0-1). Subs: R Fallon (0-3) for G Fallon, E Costello for Dolan, A Finnerty for Seale.

Referee: J. Connors (Donegal)