Same format for 2008 championships

The Roscommon senior and intermediate football championships will be played in the same format as last year. That approach was agreed at this week’s meeting of Roscommon GAA County Board.   A Castlerea motion which, if carried, would change the championship format to two groups of six teams was withdrawn. As such the championships in intermediate and senior football will revert back to four groups of three teams with the top two in each group contesting the semi-finals and the bottom team in each group battling to avoid relegation.    It was also agreed that the championships would not start until mid/late July. Delegates voted by a majority not to play two rounds of the championships in June.    The O’Rourke and O’Gara Cups will consist of 12 teams each and there will be eleven rounds of games in each competition. Fixtures chairman Pat Finneran said that he hoped that there would be nine rounds of the leagues played before the championship started.