Round up of the Roscommon and District League Season

Teams of the season: I have to pick my top three teams of the season. Ballinasloe Town were outstanding all season and were by far the best side this season, winning the league and cup double under manager Enda Concannon and will be the team to beat next season. Second place must go to Loughglynn United who played some of the best football all season and with a scoring record second to none will be a strong force in Division One next season. Third place goes to Rahara Rovers B who I tip to go up this season, Rovers also won the Division Three Cup to round off a good season and with the first team going up to the Premier Division next season, it was a good all round season for Rahara. Cup Winners G and H Cup Ballinasloe Town Premier Cup Cloonfad United First Division Ballinasloe Town B Second Division; Lisnamult Celtic Third Division Rahara Rovers B Best games I’ve watched this season That was the last game of the season between Shiven Rovers B and Roscommon Town. The ten men of the Town were outstanding, going down by the odd goal. Also Lisnamult Celtic, playing Abbey United in the cup. Worst decision In the Premier Cup Final when the referee awarded a penalty to Cloonfad United in the last minute of the game when it was clear to see the ball hit the Shiven Rovers defender’s knee not his hand. Referees and Linesmen Let’s start with the poor old referee who gets up every Sunday morning to go and referee matches with little thanks. Without the referees we would not have any soccer, so I would say to players and managers, he is only human and will make mistakes from time to time, just let go and get on with the game. Club’s Lineman The man who is never right, if he gives a decision for the home side he’s wrong, and if he gives the decision for the away team, he’s wrong in the eyes of the home side, so who would be a club linesman? Thanks! My final words I would like to say a big thank to all the Club Secretaries and PROs and a special thanks must go to John Sherlock the league secretary and Vincent Brooks the league PRO. Well that’s it for this season, so I’ll have my remote control sitting in the chair with a can of beer and watching Euro 2008 on the TV. – Dave Dibble. Ruby Oil Premier Division Champions Ballinasloe Town Runners up Dysart Relegated: Glen Celtic and Ballymoe FC Athlone Nisson Division One Champions St. John’s Athletic Runners up Strokestown United Play off winners Rahara Rovers who will be playing in the Premier Division next season. Relegated: Lough Harps and Manor United  Beár an Ráille Division Two: Champions Loughglynn United Runners up Shiven Rovers B Play off winners Cam Celtic who will play in the First Division next season. Relegated: Glen Celtic and Skyvalley Rovers B Casey Ford Division Three Champions Moore United B Runners up Castlerea Celtic B Play off winners: Rahara Rovers B who will be playing in Second Division next season Best players Ballinasloe Town’s Darragh Concannon was one of the best players on show this season. Paul Mullen of Roscommon Town was the best full back in the league by far this season. Gary Egan, Ballinasloe Town, was solid as a rock in the Town’s back four. The best forwards on show this season were Mark O’Brien and Donald Ward of Loughglynn United. Manager of the season Enda Concannon Ballinasloe Town Worst teams of the season: Number one must go to Skyvalley Rovers B who could not buy a win and St. John’s Athletic B who ended up bottom of Division Three. Masters Fixtures Saturday evening 7th June 7 pm Ballinasloe Town v Castlerea Celtic Shiven Rovers v Rahara Rovers Skyvalley Rovers v Cam Celtic St. Bernard’s v Glen Celtic