Rossies blow Leitrim away in FBD opener!



Roscommon senior footballers opened their FBD League campaign with a hugely convincing win over a poor Leitrim side yesterday evening (Wednesday) in front of a sizeable Roscommon support at the Leitrim Centre of Excellence, Annaduff.

  Playing against a strong wind, the Connacht champions tore into their neighbours from the throw-in and were three points ahead after just eight minutes as Diarmuid Murtagh converted two frees before slotting over from play.

  Leitrim finally opened their account after nine minutes when Darren Carberry got them off the mark. But it was Roscommon who were the dominant force and a Finbar Cregg goal just past the midway point of the first half was no more than they deserved. Conor Devaney played a good ball in and Ciaráin Murtagh fed Cregg who finished to the net.

  Brendan Gallagher grabbed Leitrim’s second point after 23 minutes but Roscommon responded with three frees from talisman Diarmuid Murtagh to leave the scores 1-6 to 0-2.

  On the stroke of half-time, Murtagh struck again. A quick free from Donie Smith found Finbar Cregg and his pass allowed the St. Faithleach’s forward to fist home for Roscommon’s second goal. Half-time score: Roscommon 2-6 Leitrim 0-2.

  Roscommon continued their assault in the second half aided by the strong wind. Donie Smith was outstanding and he kicked four fantastic points from play as Leitrim struggled to live with McStay’s men.

  By the 26th minute of the second half, Roscommon led by 2-13 to 0-2 through points from Smith (0-3), Finbar Cregg (0-2) and Ciaráin Murtagh (0-1). A Brendan Gallagher penalty with seven minutes of normal time remaining was of little consolation to a Leitrim side which was well beaten long before the full-time whistle.

  Donie Smith and Keith Beirne swapped points before the end as Roscommon opened their FBD League campaign with a very convincing win.

  Elsewhere, Galway were 1-12 to 0-11 winners over Sligo.

Roscommon: C Lavin; P Domican, N McInerney, R Timothy; T McKenna, D Murray, C Devaney; T O’Rourke, I Kilbride, N Daly; R Daly; P Kelly; CMurtagh (0-1), D Murtagh (1-6, 5 frees), F Cregg (1-2). Subs used: D Smith (0-4) for Devaney (20 mins), S Dowd for Kelly, E Smith for Timothy, S Mullooly for Murray, H Walsh for C Murtagh, C Lennon (0-1) for O’Rourke.

Leitrim: D McKiernan; L Ryan, D Feehily, M McWeeney; J Rooney, E Ward, S Quinn; D Wryan, C Moreton; C Gaffney, B Gallagher (1-1, 1-0 penalty), J Heslin; A Flynn, N McGovern, D Carberry (0-1). Subs used: D Moran, J Mitchell, K Beirne (0-1), K Keegan.

Referee: John Gilmartin