Roscommon U-16s receive Fr. Manning Cup medals

A medal presentation was held for the Roscommon U-16 panel, Fr. Manning Cup winners, on Saturday evening at Donamon Castle in the Cuisle Centre.   David Flynn and Stephen Ormsby (2006 minor captain & vice captain) were guests of honour and they presented the team with their medals.   Willie Hegarty was MC. Guest speakers included Fergus Moffit (Cuisle Centre). Fergus congratulated the team and management and expressed the Cuisle Centre’s delight at being associated with Roscommon GAA. He gave a brief description of  the running of the Centre as it celebrates its 10 th anniversary this year.  Tom Hayden (Chairman, Fr. Manning Committee) and Sean McMullen (Secretary, Fr. Manning Committee) both spoke on the importance of this competition to Roscommon and the other counties involved. They also spoke on changes that could affect the running of this competition next year and highlighted the fact that delegates should work very close with them to ensure the future of this competition.   Seamus Sweeney (Roscommon Coaching Officer) outlined details of coaching and development in the county.   Gary Wynne (team manager) thanked his selectors Peter Carney, Tom Ryan, Joe Sweeney and Jimmy Deane for their hard work and commitment all year. Gary also thanked the players, parents, County Board and referees.    Gary had a special thanks to Fergus Moffit and all his volunteer staff at the Cuisle Centre for the hospitality shown to them during their Easter training session.   Majella Smyth (Minor Secretary) made a presentation to Gary and his management team on behalf of the Co. Board.    Brendan Cregg (Minor Chairman) congratulated the team and management on their success and thanked everyone involved. He spoke on the importance of this competition. He also wished Gary Wynne and selectors every success as they take on the Minor management in 2008. He also extended best wishes to Ross Shannon, Mark O’Dowd and Tom Lennon, U-16 management for 2008.    Brendan also thanked Pat Tully and Majella Smyth for their hard work in ensuring that the Fr. Manning Cup competition was not scrapped in 2007.