Roscommon Scor Finals

The Roscommon Scór Sinsear county final was held in Culleen Hall, Knockcroghery on Friday the 21st of March and a capacity crowd witnessed the biggest final in many years with 36 entries from 12 clubs taking to the stage.   The night began with the Kilglass Gaels Figure Dancing team claiming victory with their performance of ‘The Cross Reel’. Next up was Padraig O’Connor, of St. Dominics, who took the solo singing title with his rendition of the Phil Coulter classic ‘The Town I Loved so Well’.  St. Barrys won the Ballad Group competition, singing ‘Mo Ghile Mear’ and ‘Ripples’. In the Recitation competition Gráinne McDonnell of St. Brigids, defeated four other entrants with her performance of ‘Hannah Grogan’.    Instrumental Music followed the Recitation contest, and the Roscommon Gaels duo of John Wynne & Sean Hanily, took the honours. They played two reels: ‘Fr Kellys’ and the ‘Bag of Spuds’ and a jig called ‘Fr Toms Wager’.    Ten teams took part in the Tráth Na gCeist and, in what was a close contest; it was Clann Na nGael who once again took the title. At the end of ‘normal time’ Clann were level with Elphin on a score of 56 points and following a set of tie-breaker questions it was the men from South Roscommon who claimed victory.   The Novelty Act competition was also very keenly-contested and Tulsk retained their title with their play entitled ‘The Ballroom of Romance’. A special mention must go to the St. Croans team who competed with distinction in the Novelty Act competition. This was the clubs first entry in Scór after a long absence and hopefully it will inspire other clubs to return from the wilderness – it’s never too late!   As well as the individual titles on offer there was also the ‘Club of the year’ competition. Points were awarded based on participation, and victories, in the various Scór events throughout the year. In the end the title went to the home club, St. Dominics, and the Club of the Year Shield was presented to Thomas Murray, Chairperson of St. Dominic’s Scór Committee by by Michael Gunn, vice-Chairperson of Coiste Scór Ros Comáin.   The following competitors were the winners and now make up the Roscommon team to represent the county in the Connacht final, which will be held in Manorhamilton, on Saturday 29th of March at 6 pm: Figure Dancing – Louise Tully, Emer Reynolds, Siobhra Jordan, Laura Keaveney, Nicola Tully, Sinead Flynn, Linda Corcoran, Karen Cruse & Sub: Laura Coyle (Kilglass Gaels) Solo Singing – Padraig O’Connor (St. Dominics) Recitation – Gráinne McDonnell (St. Brigids) Instrumental Music – John Wynne & Sean Hanily (Roscommon Gaels) Ballad Group – Teresa McGlynn, Karen Casserley, Deirdre Leavy, Emer Hoey & Martin Murray (St. Barrys) Question Time – Tom Harney, Tom Nolan & Sean Murray (Clann na nGael) Novelty Act – Alice Mannion, Frank Hussey, Mary Hussey, Peter Vesey, Martin  Connolly & Padraig Connolly (Tulsk)   Coiste Scór would like to thank Fear on Ti, Alastair Beegan, Claire Murray, who sang the National Anthem, the adjudicators from Co. Westmeath and our hosts St. Dominics, who prepared the venue and looked after the large crowd in attendance.