Roscommon Golf Club Men`s Winter League

This year’s Men’s Winter League starts on 22 nd October next. The format will be an open draw with teams consisting of three players made up of one player from each of the three Handicap categories.    Six counting cards per player are required between 22/10/2007 & 16/1/2008 and you can play as many times as you like. The leading eight teams by the 16 th January will then qualify for the matchplay stages.   This year’s new format is designed to cater for all players and its flexibility means that you can choose your dates to play and get your counting cards.   The League, which is kindly sponsored for the first time by Ward’s of Goff St., Roscommon, is a great way to keep your game in shape over the winter months while having the craic & enjoying a bit of team spirit.   The Draw Sheet is on the notice board and the Draw will take place on Sunday, 21 st October.    CASTLEREA GOLF CLUB Results for Sunday October 14th 18 hole stableford: 1st John Collins (22) 44pts, 2nd Pat Doorey (11) 44 pts. Cat1 – Jimmy Joyce (5) 38 pts, Cat 2 Noel Mannion (17) 40 pts, Cat 3 Tom McGarry (23) 41pts. This Friday night there will be an EGM of members at 8pm sharp. All members are asked to attend this important meeting. Next Sunday, 14th October 18 hole stableford sponsored by the Golden Eagle. Castlerea Ladies Golf   Results from the Ladies’ Open Day in Castlerea on Oct. 6th were 1st Ann Casey (Longford) 38pts. 2 nd : Mary Kenny 37pts. 3rd Paula Keane (Roscommon) 37pts. Category 1 Mary Seymour (Roscommon) 31pts. Category 2 Lily Healy 36pts. Ist nine: Maura Kelly, 2nd nine: Patricia Callaghan.   The competition sponsored by The Horse and Jockey was won by Valerie Callaghan with 32pts. Kay Kitson won the prize for non-qualifiers in the Anthony Cahill matchplay. Boyle Golf Club  Last Sunday’s competition was an 18 Hole Stableford won by Tadgh Egan with a score of 42 points (C/B), 2nd place went to John Tiernan also with 42 points (C/B), Gross prize went to Gary Carty and third place to Jimmy Doyle, who has been in fine form as acting barman for the past week! Where does he get his energy?    Thursday night was won by Owen Garvin with a score of 22 points, Pat Conroy came second with 21 (C/B) and James Shivnan came third with 21 points.    The draw for the Winter League took place last Sunday and the teams are listed on the Club noticeboard. The format will be an 18 Hole Rumble to be played on the next three Sundays, (October 14th, 21st & 28th). Best two scores on each hole with the best two cards to count. ROSCOMMON GOLF CLUB Mens Results 18 hole Stroke sponsored by Campus Oil – 1st Charlie Farrell 65, 2nd Michael Keane 68, Gross David Kearney 77, 3rd Declan Browne 69. Ladies Results of Club 9 hole competition on 2 nd October: 1 st Mary Seymour 21 points, 2 nd Paula Keane 20 points. Results of 18 Hole competition on Sunday 7 th , sponsored by Flemings Pharmacy was won by Marina Dolan with 40 points, 2 nd Anne McNally 39 points, (on back nine) Gross Mary Seymour and 3 rd Kay Ruane 39 points.  The Winter League has commenced and already ladies are feverishly trying to better their scores to get their team off to a good start. Remember to return a card for the month of October irrespective of how good or bad it is. BALLINASLOE GOLF CLUB Results of Open Scotch Foursomes on 4 th , 5 th , 6 th & 7 th October: 1 st Dermot O’Mahony (5) & Liam Curley (27) 64 nett, 2 nd Greg Dowd (7) & John Dowd (12) 66 ½ nett, Ladies Prize: Anne Scott (20) & Frances Blake (23) 69 ½ nett.  Results of Open 18 Hole Singles Stableford: 1 st Chris Parker (11) 43pts, 2 nd John Gillespie (14) 43pts, Gross Shane K Kelly (3) 35pts, 3 rd Eamonn Fallon (16) 41pts. Ladies Results of 18 Hole Stableford sponsored by GBD on Tuesday 2 nd October: 1 st Overall Patt Groarke 35pts (b9). Cat A: Ann Staunton 33pts, 1 st Cat B: Theresa McGann 35pts, 1 st Cat C: Marie Curran 35pts. Seniors – 26 th September 18 Hole Stableford: 1 st Frank McKenna 42pts, 2 nd Cathal Oliver 39pts, 3 rd Joe Burke 38pts, 4 th Tommy Devine 38pts.   3 rd October 18 Hole Stableford: 1 st J.F. Slattery 40pts, 2 nd Iggy Colohan 37pts, 3 rd Joe Moore 37pts, 4 th Seamus Shinners 35pts.