Roscommon Gaels to celebrate 60 years




Roscommon Gaels GAA Club is preparing for a major night of celebration on Friday, November 15th as the club marks 60 years in existence.

  In May 1959, the two town clubs of Eoghan Ruadhs and St. Coman’s amalgamated to form club now known as Roscommon Gaels. To honour the 60th Anniversary the club will bring 2019 to a close with a dinner dance and club awards night on Friday, November 15th in the Abbey Hotel at 7.30 pm.

  The Hall of Fame Award for 2019 will be presented to Noel Rowe. Noel won five county senior hurling titles with Roscommon Gaels (1964, 1965, 1966, 1969, 1970), two Connacht Junior hurling titles, and in 1965, an All-Ireland Junior hurling medal with the Gaels.

  After twenty-one years in Roscommon Town Noel left to work in Sligo and has returned to his native Co. Westmeath in recent times. He continues to support the club and regularly attends matches.

  Alongside the Hall of Fame award the annual club awards for 2019 will also be given out for young and adult players of the year for camogie, ladies football, football and hurling as well as the Club Person of the Year. County Junior camogie championship medals will also be presented after the club claimed its first title in 27 years this year.

  Organisers encourage current and past members to attend the event and to reunite with former teammates for an evening of celebration and memories.

  Tickets for the evening are €40 (€30 OAP/Students) and are available from the following club members: Teresa Hession (086-1916808); Orla Fleming (086-8178259); Tom Fitzmaurice (083-8368056); Finbar O’Reilly (087-9266923); Peter Mullen (086-8577430); Ollie Moran (087-9042089); Cahal Mahon (086-1010153); Yvonne Lambe (086-6063534); Chris Grogan (087-7908569); Yvonne Donohue (086-8294778).