Roscommon Gaels best in a forgettable encounter

Hodson Bay Hotel Roscommon SFC (Group A): Roscommon Gaels 0-11 Castlerea St. Kevin’s 0-7

When the highlights reel for the 2016 Roscommon SFC is shown, this game will definitely not feature as Roscommon Gaels limped over the line against a Castlerea side who could have caused a shock if they had taken the chances they missed in a terrible first half.

  In the end the Gaels had superior firepower and, short a number of injured players, they will be happy to have two wins out of two games.

  The first half was dire. Castlerea had far more possession but they shot a total of nine wides in the half, many from scoreable positions.

  The story of the first-half scoring is a short one. Christy Dineen kicked three points for Castlerea (two from frees), while Roscommon Gaels’ only scorer was James McDermott, in the 14th minute. Half-time score: Castlerea 0-3 Roscommon Gaels 0-1.

  The Gaels were somewhat better in the second half and with David O’Gara doing well at centre half-back they started to make it pay on the scoreboard. Points from Enda Lannon (2, 1 free), Ollie Hannon, Ciaran Kilcline and sub John Nolan helped them into a 0-6 to 0-4 lead by the 42nd minute.

  But the Gaels could not shake off a dogged home side and twice the gap was narrowed to one as Christy Dineen’s accurate free-taking was a major factor for Castlerea. With 60 minutes gone the score was 0-8 to 0-7 in favour of the Gaels, but they added three points in two minutes in injury-time to seal the win with Johnny Conteh, Kevin O’Gara and Ciaran Kilcline on target. They will have to improve if they want to be a factor at the business end of the championship.

  Best for the Gaels were John McManus, David O’Gara, Kevin O’Gara and Enda Lannon, while for Castlerea, Christy Dineen, Cathal Dineen and Ger Heneghan were most effective on the day.

Roscommon Gaels: William O’Doherty; Kevin Kilcline, John McManus, Ryan Horan; Kevin O’Gara (0-1), David O’Gara, Ronan Gleeson; James McDermott (0-1), Ciaran Kilcline (0-3); Aidan Duignan, Enda Lannon (0-3, 2 frees), Brian Kelly; Ollie Hannon (0-1), Johnny Conteh (0-1), Cillian Egan. Subs: John Nolan (0-1) for Hannon (37).

Castlerea St. Kevin’s: Geoffrey Claffey; Eddie Creaton, Niall Collins, David Flahive; Cathal Dineen, Fintan Kelly, Declan Creaton; Joe Henry, Ronan Raftery; Sean Ryan, Enda Kenny, Hugh Rooney; Christy Dineen (0-5, 4 frees), Ger Heneghan (0-1, free), Darren McDermott. Subs: Conor Casey for Raftery (26), Eoin O’Connell (0-1) for Flahive (37), Patrick Gunning for Kenny (42), Gareth McElhone for Ryan (55).

Referee: Damien Wallace.