Roscommon GAA convention this week

The 2015 Roscommon GAA convention will take place at St John’s Community Centre on Saturday at 3 pm and there will be a number of new faces on the executive after the meeting.

  There will be a new chairman as Michael Fahey steps down after five years at the helm. There is only one nominee and he is Seamus Sweeney of Shannon Gaels.

There will be a contest for the vice chairman’s position as Sean Flanagan (Tulsk), Ollie Kelly (St. Faithleach’s) and Padraig Naughton (Clann na nGael) are all nominated.

  There ware two nominations for the post of treasurer, as the outgoing Joe Gilligan is being challenged by Seamus Maher (Roscommon Gaels).

  There will also be a contest for the assistant secretary’s position as Valerie Murray (Michael Glavey’s) and Seamus Nugent (Kilglass Gaels) will contest that position.   

  Thomas Murray (St. Dominic’s) will be the new development officer as he is the sole nominee for that position and he replaces Hugh Lynn (Éire Óg) who will now become the new PRO and he will replace the outgoing Colm Beirne.

  The two positions on the Connacht Council will be contested between Anthony Flaherty, Michael McGuire, Sean Mullaney and Seamus Regan, while Noel Collins and John Corcoran will battle it out for the Central Council position.

  The reports from the secretary Brian Carroll and treasuer Joe Gilligan will be discussed, as will the motions.