Roscommon County Council sees six new councillors elected

Following three days of counting in the Hyde Centre in Roscommon, the county now has its eighteen county councillors who will be sitting in office for the next five years.

Out of the eighteen elected, there are six new councillors filling the six seats left vacant by the retiring councillors: Gareth Scahill (FG) and Larry Brennan (FF) in the Roscommon LEA; Leah Cull (SF), Michael Frain (IND), and Sean Moylan (FF) in the Boyle LEA and Domnick Connolly (FG) in the Athlone LEA.

The twelve councillors who were seeking re-election were all successful and have been returned to office.

Below is a full list of the elected councillors:


Paschal Fitzmaurice (FF)

Marty McDermott (FF)

Larry Brennan (FF)

Nigel Dineen (II)

Gareth Scahill (FG)

Tony Waldron (IND)


Emer Kelly (IND)

Tony Ward (IND)

John Naughten (FG)

Laurence Fallon (IND)

Domnick Connolly (FG)

John Keogh (FF)


Sean Moylan (FF)

Liam Callaghan (FG)

Tom Crosby (IND)

Valerie Byrne (IND)

Leah Cull (SF)

Michael Frain (IND)