Roscommon & District League round-up

Ruby Oil Premier Division Ballinasloe Town 6 Ballymoe F.C. 0 Ballinasloe Town are the new leaders of the Ruby Oil Sponsored Premier Division of the Roscommon & District League following a 6-0 win over Ballymoe F.C in Ballinasloe.    Darragh Concannon scored two and Mark Duffy one in the first half for Ballinasloe. Garry Egan Henry Loughnane and Darragh Concannon added three more after the break. Shiven Rovers 1 Skyvalley Rovers 0 Shiven Rovers beat Skyvalley Rovers 1-0 in Newbridge. Both teams had chances to win the game but at the end a goal scored by Thomas Hannon ten minutes into the second half won the three points for Shiven Rovers. Athlone Nissan Division One Ballinasloe Town 3 St Johns Athletic 1 St. Johns Athletic missed out on a chance to win the Athlone Nissan Division 1 Championship when beaten 3-1 away to Ballinasloe Town’s second side. Jason Campbell scored from the penalty spot in the first half and Vinnie Doherty added a second after eight minutes of play in the second half for the Town side. St. Johns Athletic missed a handful of good chances including a penalty kick, which was well saved by the Ballinasloe ‘keeper Damien Maloney. Alan Creavin did pull a goal back with ten minutes left to play but any hopes of a comeback were dashed when Jason Campbell scored for Ballinasloe with a well-struck free kick. St. Johns still need a point from their last game away to Ahascragh United to be crowned champions. Ahascragh United 1 Strokestown United 2 Strokestown United are within three points of the leaders following a 2-1 win over Ahascragh United in Ahascragh. Kenny Bosquette opened the scoring for Strokestown United with a stunning left-foot volley.    John Rogers made it 2-0 when he got on the end of a Conor Silke cross. The polish player Marytin pulled a goal back for Ahascragh United.    Strokestown play Manor United in their last League game and a win will give them a place in the Premier Division next season.  Bear an Raille Division Two Cloonfad United 1 Ballinagare 3 Ballinagare kept their hopes of promotion alive when they beat Cloonfad United 3-1 in Cloonfad. Derek Moran, Danny Owens and Mark Drury scored for Ballinagare. Paddy Costello scored for the losers. Casey Ford Division Three Moore United moved closer to winning the Casey Ford Division 3 title when they beat nearest challengers Rahara Rovers 2-1 in Moore.    Rahara Rovers took the lead after ten minutes of play when Paul Doolin headed home a corner-kick. Rahara nearly added a second from the penalty spot, but were denied by an excellent save by the Brazilian Amarillo.    With eighteen minutes on the clock Paul Duffy converted an Alan Duffy cross to level the game. Five minutes before half-time Alan Duffy scored what turned out to be the winner for Moore United.