Roscommon & District League round-up

On the second last Sunday of the Roscommon & District League season Ballinasloe Town added the Denis McCarthy sponsored Premier Division Cup to their trophy room, thanks to a 3-0 over Heatmerchants at Onagh Park, Taughmaconnell. A host of missed chances cost Heatmerchants dearly and they can only blame themselves for losing the game.    The Ballinasloe team captain Mark Duffy got on the end of a Darragh Concannon cross after thirty-three minutes of play and headed Ballinasloe Town in front. Four minutes before the break Heatmerchants were awarded a penalty kick but Darren Smith saved David Dowling’s effort.  Within a minute Ballinasloe Town stretched their lead when Darragh Concannon crossed the ball to the back post and Henry Loughnane headed home. The same player sealed a victory when he headed to the Heatmerchants net in the second half with Darragh Concannon and Liam Lynch the provider.   Ericsson F.C added the Division 2 Cup to the Division 2 league championship when they came from behind to beat Manor Utd. 3-2 after extra-time at Lecarrow. Aiden Kelly struck twice in the opening twenty minute to give Manor Utd a 2-0 advantage. However Des Boyle won a penalty and then converted the spot-kick to give Ericsson F.C. a lifeline. Mick Fitzgerald headed an equaliser just before half-time. In the second period of extra-time Des Boyle struck the winner for Ericsson F.C.   In the Masters league Skyvalley Rvs drew 1-1 at home to Cam Celtic. Sean Mc Donald gave Cam Celtic a 1-0 advantage and they looked like winning all three points until Skyvalley Rovers equalised in the last minute of the game. Ballinasloe Town beat Shiven Rvs. 5-0 at Newbridge. Vinnie Doherty got four and Hamid one for the winners.   Glen Celtic kept up their winning run with a 2 – 1 win away to St. Bernard’s and Castlerea Celtic had  a 3-1 win over Baylough Rvs.