Roscommon & District League in Traynor Cup action

The Big  Match Preview: Roscommon & District League v Inishowen league Next Sunday at the Skyvalley Rovers ground at Onagh Park, Taughmaconnell, the Roscommon & District League play their first game in this season’s Oscar Traynor Cup Competition.   They take on old rivals Inishowen League with a kick-off time of 2 pm. This season the Roscommon & District league will have the Inishowen, Galway, Donegal and the Mayo league in their group with home games against the Inishowen and Galway leagues and away to the Mayo and Donegal leagues. The top two teams will compete in the knock out stages of this national competition.    Over the last couple of months the team Manager Gerry Lennon has been preparing the team and will complete their preparation with a game against the combined Counties league in Tullamore on Wednesday night.   Last Season saw the Roscommon and District league made the long journey to Inishowen and were rewarded with a 3-2 win. It was as good as it got for the winners as they never played as well in later games. This season the Manager Lennon has made many changes to the panel of players and a good start would be a big boosts their confidence.    The starting line up is likely to include experienced players such as Paul Kelly and John Greene from Moore Utd. Jim Mannion, Ronan Curran, and David Fitzpatrick from Castlerea Celtic, Ger Mc Donald from Ballymoe, Liam Lynch from Ballinasloe and the Brazilian Edimielson from Lisnamult Celtic.   Everyone from the Roscommon and District league will be wishing the team well and its hoped that many of the players and supporters from other clubs will come out and support the team. The Panel: Dysart: James Coyne, Niall Corbett. Loughglynn Utd.: David Ward, Mark O’Brien. Moore Utd; Paul Kelly, John Greene. Lisnamult Celtic: Dida, Roberto, Edimielson, Rafael. Castlerea Celtic: Jimmie Mannion, Ronan Curran, David Fitzpatrick. Ballymoe FC: Ger McDonnell, Ballinasloe Town: Darragh Concannon, Gary Furey, Liam Lynch, Lloyd Kelly. Skyvalley Rvs: Benny Lynch.