Roscommon aim for revenge in Traynor Cup clash with Mayo!

Next Sunday the Roscommon & District League team travel to the Mile Bush Stadium in Castlebar where they play the Mayo League in their second game in this season’s Oscar Traynor Cup competition.    The Roscommon & District League played really well in their opening game at home to the Inishowen League two weeks ago and were unlucky not to take all three points after being ahead with minutes to go.    That game should be of benefit to the Roscommon & District League as their opponents have not played a competitive game.    Twelve months ago the Roscommon & District League were going well in the competition but were then beaten 5-0 at home by the Mayo League.    Vinnie O’Malley was the Mayo man of the match and he scored no less than four goals for his side.    However it’s a completely different defence that takes the field on Sunday with Paul Kelly and Gary Egan at the heart of the Roscommon & District League backline.    Unfortunately the Skyvalley Rvs. ‘keeper Benny Lynch will not be available on Sunday as he is out of the country.    The Dysart ‘keeper, Derek Miskell, joins the panel as replacement. Ger McDonnell and James Coyne and goalscorers Darragh Concannon and Ronan Curran will fully test the Mayo defence.    It’s a big game for the Roscommon &  District League and the players will be hoping to overturn last season’s poor performance and move a step closer to reaching the knock-out stages.  Roscommon & District League panel: David Fitzpatrick, Jimmy Mannion, Ronan Curran, Conor McSharry, (Castlerea Celtic) Ger McDonnell, (Ballymoe F.C) James Coyne, Niall Corbett, Derek Miskell (Dysart F.C.) Paul Kelly, John Greene, (Moore Utd.) Darragh Concannon, Gary Furey, Garry Egan, Darren Smyth, (Ballinasloe Town)  Edimielson, Dida, Rafael, Roberto. (Lisnamult Celtic).