Results of Roscommon Drama Festival schools’ story writing competition

Winners of the 2023 Roscommon Drama Festival Story Writing Competition pictured with Council Cathaoirleach Cllr. Tom Crosby last Friday evening. Pic: Michelle Hughes Walsh

The results of Roscommon Drama Festival’s story writing competition for primary school pupils were announced at the festival’s recent launch.

The overall competition winner was Seán Crean from St Coman’s Wood NS in Roscommon. In the sixth class category, Darragh O’Connachtáin (Gaeilscoil de hIde) came in first and Ruth Dennigan (Scoil Bhride) came in second. In the fifth class category, Clodagh Fergus (Ballymurray NS) took first place and Finn O’Ruaric (Gaeilscoil de hIde) came second.

The pupils who submitted the best entries from their respective schools were also recognised; Ellen Cox won for Ballagh NS, Elysia O’Leary won for Ballyfeeney NS, Oscar Hauf won for Ballyleague NS, Emily Lynch won for Ballymurray NS, Harry Costello won for Feevagh NS, John O’Byrne won for Fuerty NS, Shauna Ni hEidhin won for Gaeilscoil de hIde, Mark Fox won for Kilteevan NS, Cian Beirne won for Knockcroghery NS, Michael Tierney won for Lisaniskey NS, Anna O’Rourke won for Roxboro NS, Martin Bikoi won for Runnamoate NS, Tadhg Bracken won for Scoil Bhride, Madison Murray Corbally won for St Coman’s Wood NS, and Ella Rogerson won for Tisrara NS.