Pearses through Four Roads to final

The Peppermill Restaurant Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final Padraig Pearses 0-16 Four Roads 1-8

Padraig Pearses overcame Four Roads in a highly competitive semi-final in Woodmount on Sunday last. Pearses’ midfielder Shane Downey and Four Roads full-forward Brian Lawlor (free) exchanged points early on before Padraig Pearses reeled off six unanswered scores without reply to take a 0-7 to 0-1 lead by the 20th minute.

  Cathal Dowd, Cathal Donnelly and Brian Lawlor then led the Four Roads fightback. Paul Carey hit Pearses’ sole riposte in this time. However, at 0-8 to 0-5 at half-time, it was still advantage Pearses.

  Five points on the trot from Glynn (three frees) and scores from Eoin Galvin and Jamie Donoghue catapulted Pearses into a 0-13 to 0-8 in the second half. The Four Roads efforts came via two more Lawlor frees.

  Four Roads missed a penalty when Lawlor’s penalty blazed just wide of Kelvin Kelly’s goalmouth.

  Four Roads did finally breach the Pearses cover with three minutes to go and the goal came from an unexpected source, defender John Donoghue. 0-14 to 1-8.

 Daniel Glynn added two scores in the closing stages to book Padraig Pearses’ place in this year’s decider, where they will face Athleague/Tremane.

 Padraig Pearses: K. Kelly; A. Carty, K. Feehily, L. Clogher; M. Comerford, E. Costello, E. Galvin (0-1); O. Kelly, S. Downey (0-1); D. Ryan, D. Glynn (0-11, 8f), P. Carey (0-1); J. Curley, J. Donoghue (0-1), D. Wallace (0-1). Sub used: A. Flood.

Four Roads: A. Clogher; C. Coyle, P. Kenny, J. Mulry; C. Donnelly (0-1), D. Kelly, J. Donoghue (1-0); D. Gately, B. Mulry; N. Hynes, M. Clogher, S. Clogher; J. Cunniffe, B. Lawlor (0-6f), C. Dowd (0-1). Sub used: J. Donnelly.

Referee: V. Burke.