Over 300 take part in art competition

Over 300 children from all over the county took paints, crayons and pencils to the art competition, held at the Hyde Centre, Roscommon on Saturday, 29th March. With artistic talent in abundance the judges’ job in picking the winners was extremely hard but after much deliberation results were found. Many thanks must go to the ladies who gave up their valuable time to come along at short notice and judge what was an unenviable task. Results:  Girls:  U-8: 1st: Colleen McManus, Drum. Joint 2nd: Jessica Connolly, Castlerea; Leane Gately, Kiltoom. Joint 3rd: Edel Glancy, Ballintubber/Ballymoe; Orla McGowan, Kilmore. U-10: 1st: Meadhbh Jones, Tulsk. 2nd: Catriona Beirne, Elphin. 3rd: Emma O’Beirne,  Croghan. U-12: 1st: Ciara Egan, Ballintubber/Ballymoe. 2nd: Emma Callaghan, Castlerea; 3rd: Roisin McCaffney, Elphin.  U-14: 1st: Donia Arafn, Douglas Hyde. Joint 2nd: Niamh Farrell, Taughmaconnell; Katie Kelly, Taughmaconnell. Joint 3rd: Anna Deignan, Ballaghaderreen; Shauna O’Neill,  Kilgefin. U-16: 1st: Niamh Madden, Roscommon/Kilteeven. 2nd: Orla Farrell, Taughmaconnell; 3rd: Aileen McHugh, Oran.  Boys: U-8: 1st: Ciaran Lawless, Oran. Joint 2nd: Glen Gilmartin, Ballinameen, Christopher Kennedy, Douglas Hyde. Joint 3rd: Cian Dolan, Roscommon/Kilteeven, Hugo Brady, Elphin. U-10: 1st Mark Gleeson,  Roscommon/Kilteeven 2nd Niall Higgins, Elphin, 3rd Jamie Keogh, Taughmaconnell. U-12: 1st: Keelan Beirne, Strokestown. 2nd: Dean McManus, Drum/Clonown. Joint 3rd: Eoin Callaghan, Loughglynn; Ian Murphy, Knockcroghery. U-14: 1st: Declan Quinlan, Ballaghaderreen. 2nd: Tom McGlynn, Boyle. Joint 3rd: Ross Myan, Knockcroghery, Cathal Kelly, Moore. U-16: 1st Clive Flynn, Kilronan; 2nd Ruaidhie McManus, Drum/Clonown.  Model Making Competition  The talent displayed in the model making competition at the Hyde Centre, Roscommon on Saturday 29th March proved that children can still display an imagination to portray pictures from their minds eye and an ability to build from cardboard, Plasticine, drinking straws, cocktail sticks and coloured paper. Once again the judges had a very hard task in choosing the winners and the results were as follows:    Results: Girls: U-10: 1st: Rachel Dolan, Knockcroghery. 2nd: Roisin O’Brien. Joint 3rd: Elaine McDermott, Shannon O’Dowd. U-12: 1st: Chloe Gacquin, AFK. 2nd: Della McGuinness, Roscommon/Kilteeven. 3rd: Marie Murray, Knockcroghery. U-14: 1st: April Timothy, Roscommon/Kilteeven. 2nd: Lisa Cuddy, AFK 3rd Eva Kneafsey,  Castlerea.  Boys: U-10: 1st Dylan McTiernan, Kilbride. 2nd: Eamon Cope. U-12: 1st: Aaron Gacquin, AFK. 2nd: Keelan Finan, Castlerea.  Joint 3rd: Darragh O’Grady, Kiltoom Ciaran Keegan, Croghan/Drumlion. U-14: 1st: Patrick Deane, Croghan/Drumlion. 2nd: Cormae Guthrie, Castlerea. 3rd: Matthew McDermott, Croghan/Drumlion.