O’Riordan and Walshe triumph

Colm Walshe and Lauren O’Riordan of Comans are the Gale-Linn All Ireland Chamionship winners. Roscommon last won the Championship in 1997 when Aifric Naughton and Damien Martin won. At the end of a long day it was Comans of Roscommon and Cappagh of Limerick (the 2007 champions) who met  in what turned out to be an absorbing match with Comans winning by ten points. The six teams taking part were Kerry, Dublin, Roscommon, Kilkenny and Galway.    In the quarter final Roscommon beat Dublin 82 points to 14 and Kerry in the semi final by 83 points to 29. In the meantime Cappagh (Martina McMahon, the All-Ireland Under 14 singles and Irish national champion and Cormac O’Se were almost beaten by a brilliant Ceana Ni Churraoin and the lively Maibhe O’Conghaile of the Michael Breathnach Club, Galway. The Limerick Club only won this exciting quarter final 33-28. In the semi final Cappagh beat the weakest team, Kells of Kilkenny.      The Cup Final then was between the holders Cappagh and St. Comans and it lived up to all our expectations. The clash of the two best Under 13 players in Ireland, St. Coman’s Lauren O’Riordan and Cappagh’s Martina McMahon ended in stalemate, level at 9 points each. The rallies were long with both players careful not to make telling errors. This was a fine exhibition of handball and the next singles between Walshe (St. Comans) and Cormac O’Se was vital and the Comans left-hander won it 13 points to 8 to carve out a marvellous win for a highly-motivated Comans team coached by M. Naughton. President Tony Hannon presented the winners with the Gael Linn Cup, medals and the Gael Linn tee-shirts and he thanked all who made a wonderful day of good handball possible, players, parents, officials, Bridin and Aiden Ui Mhaelaghin (Dublin) the officials in charge, and he thanked Niamh Egan, the Handball Promotions Officers. Galway brought the Solas Plate competition to the West, beating Kerry, thereby making it a great day for Connacht handball.  Community Games Finals (Handball): The Community Games handball finals go on this weekend at a new venue, Kingscourt. The Roscommon-Kilteevan parish have two teams. All are from the St. Comans Club and the pupils of the CBS and Convent of Mercy. The boys Under 15 team is Colm Walshe, Conor Egan, Liam Costello and Gary Kelly. The Girls Under 15 team is Lauren O’Riordan, Rochelle Mullaney, Catherine Hanlon and Shauna Lynch. Senior Handball Singles Championship: Dessie Keegan and Vincent Moran both from the Ballaghdereen Club will meet in the All-Ireland senior Singles final on a date to be arranged. In the semi final Dessie beat Eoin Kennedy of Dublin 13.21, 21.2, 21.14 and Vincent Moran beats Tom Sheridan of Meath 21.17, 21.3. Junior Singles: Junior Singles at St. Comans Saturday 24th at 7pm. John Lee (Tipperary) v Paul Flynn (Mayo).  Masters Hardball: Paddy O’Donovan (Laois) defeated Kevin Geraghty (Mayo). Junior Hardball Doubles: Trevor Hannon and Kevin Craddock (Galway) defeated Paul Flynn and Ollie Cassidy 21.18 in the third game and Christopher Doolin and Shane Hennelly have withdrew from the doubles due to an injury to Hennelly.  Official Opening of Handball Courts: The Ballymoe-Glinsk 40×20 Handball Court at Ballincurry was officailly opened on Saturday. Well done to Michael Hurley and all concerned.