Roscommon primary schools recognised for STEM participation

Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, Patrick O’Donovan TD, recently announced that nine primary schools in Roscommon have been awarded the SFI Curious Minds Award 2024.

Led by Science Foundation Ireland (SFI), the programme aims to increase interest in science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) among primary school students, parents, and teachers, nationwide in a fun, engaging way.

Announcing the 2024 Curious Minds Awards at a visit to Kilbehenny National School, Knockrour, Kilbehenny, Co Limerick (Platinum award-winners), Minister O’Donovan said, “I am delighted to announce the winners of this year’s SFI Curious Minds Awards. Congratulations to all involved – your individual and collective dedication and effort has paid off!”

The SFI Curious Minds Awards celebrate and recognise the participation of schools in hands-on, inquiry-based learning in STEM. The Awards offer three categories for applicants –the Silver, Gold, and Platinum Awards. This year in Roscommon, two schools received the Silver Award, five schools received the Gold Award, and two schools achieved the Platinum Award.

The two Roscommon schools to receive a Silver Award were Granlahan NS and Scoil Mhuire Gan Smal. The five Roscommon schools to receive a Gold Award were Athleague NS, Clooneyquinn NS, Our Lady of Mount Carmel NS, Rahara National School, and St Cóman’s Wood Primary School. The two Roscommon schools to receive a Platinum Award were St Attracta’s NS and Ballintleva NS.

The schools’ achievements were celebrated in classrooms across the country during a virtual SFI Curious Minds Awards Ceremony held on Friday, June 14th.