Murphy wins Seanad seat as Leyden and Dolan lose out

Eugene Murphy has bounced back from his defeat in February’s General Election to win a seat in Seanad Éireann. However, his party colleague Cllr. Orla Leyden was unsuccessful in her bid, as was Ballinasloe-based councillor Aisling Dolan.

Eugene Murphy (Fianna Fáil) ran on the Agricultural Panel, as did his fellow Roscommon/Galway General Election candidate, Cllr. Aisling Dolan (Fine Gael).

There were 25 candidates, for 11 seats. The valid poll was 1,130,000 and the quota was 94,167.

Victor Boyhan topped the poll on 89,000. Eugene Murphy polled 44,000 on the first count, with Cllr. Dolan polling 42,000. Several further counts followed, with Cllr. Dolan being eliminated on the 14th count.

Eugene Murphy was elected on the 18th count (on Wednesday morning) with 94,661 votes. His success will greatly soften the blow of his defeat in the recent General Election, when the then Deputy Murphy lost out to Claire Kerrane (Sinn Féin).

This electoral success means that the now Senator Eugene Murphy makes a quick return to the Oireachtas and will serve as Roscommon’s sole member in the Senate Chamber.

Cllr. Orla Leyden (Fianna Fáil) was running for the Seanad for the first time, and endeavouring to follow in the footsteps of her father, Terry, who recently retired from Seanad Éireann after over four decades in national politics.

Cllr. Leyden was running on the Labour Panel, one of 20 candidates contesting for the 11 available seats. The total valid poll was 1,133,000 and the quota was 94,417. Jerry Buttimer topped the poll with 105,000 votes. Cllr. Leyden polled 26,000, with Athlone-based councillor Aengus O’Rourke polling 47,000.