More election runners chosen



Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin last week chose candidates for the upcoming local elections.

  Following the withdrawal of sitting councillor Rachel Doherty, Fianna Fáil confirmed the selection of fellow councillors John Cummins and Joe Murphy as well as party activist Aidan Sampey, who ran in the 2014 local elections, at the party’s Boyle area convention in The Percy French Hotel in Strokestown on January 10th.

  Sinn Féin confirmed Castlerea’s Seamus O’Brien, sitting councillor and Ballaghaderreen native, Michael Mulligan and Monskland’s Joe Harney at the party’s selection convention last Friday night in Gleeson’s Restaurant and Rooms in Roscommon town.

  Meanwhile, Fine Gael has set dates for its Boyle and Carrick-on-Shannon selection conventions.

  The Boyle convention will be held in The Percy French Hotel in Strokestown on January 25th and nominations close today (Thursday 17th). Two candidates, Andrew Reynolds from Rooskey and Cllr. Liam Callaghan from Tulsk, have indicated their intention to stand.

  Carrick-on-Shannon candidates will be chosen on Tuesday, February 5th at the Bush Hotel. Cllr. Finola Armstrong-McGuire and Mohill native, Tom Mulligan are likely to contest.