Minors host Mayo at The Hyde

Electric Ireland U-17 Connacht FC (First Round): Roscommon v Mayo at Dr Hyde Park on Friday night at 6.30 pm

The Connacht Minor Football Championship round robin competition begins this Friday night. Roscommon have Mayo at home in round one and Galway away in round two so a good start is vital if this team wants to qualify for a place in the play-off stages.

Roscommon are managed by James Duignan again this year and are led by joint captains in Ryan Hanley and Jamie Betts. Mayo were All-Ireland finalists last year but most of that side are now over age this year.

The hosts will be looking to the likes of Eoghan Carthy and Eoghan Murray to lead the side this year as both are experienced at this level having been on the panel last year. A total of 15 clubs are represented on the panel.

Roscommon have been training hard and will be hoping to get off to a winning start on Friday evening. They then face Galway away on Friday week, Leitrim at home on Friday 28th, and Sligo away on Friday, May 5th. The top team goes straight into the final while the second and third-placed teams play in a semi-final.