Minor hurlers advance to semi-final

Roscommon 2-11 Wicklow 0-13 Roscommon minor hurlers advanced to the semi-final of the All-Ireland minor hurling B Championship with a hard-fought 4 point win victory over Wicklow played in ideal weather conditions at Athleague on Saturday.   Playing with the wind in the first half Roscommon opened the scoring with a point from ET Murray, followed by a brilliant goal after six minutes by corner forward Niall Kilroy. After 12 minutes Wicklow got their first score from play by George O’Brien and the same player added two more points from frees. Roscommon rallied with points from Cormac Kelly (2), ET Murray, Adrian Purcell, Niall Kilroy and a brilliant long-range free from Murray again, to leave Roscommon leading by 1-7 to 0-3 at half time. In the second half Roscommon just did enough to resist a solid Wicklow showing.   ROSCOMMON: David Dowd; Michael Carty, Joey Carty, Aodhain Quigley; Michael Rogerson, James Donnelly, Keelan Boyle; Paul Higgins, ET Murray (1-6); Cormac Kelly (0-2), Andrew Lalor (1-0), Arian Purcell (0-1); Johnny McDermott, Naos Connaughton, Niall Kilroy (1-2). Substitutions: Cillian Egan, Paul Donnelly, Ciaran Dowd, Niall Beirne.