Michael McGreal is new Mayor

Ballinlough-based Fine Gael councillor Michael McGreal was, as expected, elected as the new Mayor of Roscommon County Council on Monday last. Cllr. McGreal was proposed by his party colleague Cllr. John Connor and seconded by Cllr. Tom Crosby (Independent).    Fianna Fail nominee Cllr. Eugene Murphy was proposed by Cllr. John Cummins and seconded by Cllr. Trevor Finneran.      Cllr. Michael Mulligan of Sinn Fein was proposed by Cllr. Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan and the nomination was seconded by Cllr. Mulligan himself. There were three candidates in the field but the dye was cast already.   Cllr. Mulligan was eliminated with two votes and Cllr. McGreal was then elected, defeating Cllr. Murphy by 13 votes to 10, with 3 abstentions. Cllrs.  Valerie Byrne, Paula McNamara and Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan were the ones who did not vote for any candidate in the second round of voting.   Fine Gael Councillor Michael Creighton was elected Deputy Mayor by 14 votes to 9, with three abstentions. He defeated Fianna Fail Cllr. Rachel Doherty. On this occasion Cllr. Flanagan voted for Cllr. Creighton while Cllrs. Byrne, McNamara and Mulligan abstained.   Councillor McGreal was previously the chairperson of Roscommon County Council in the year 1999-2000.