MFC Final: Brigid’s outgun Clann in cracker!


O’Rourke Fireplaces & Stoves Minor ‘A’ Football Championship Final: St. Brigid’s 4-17 Clann na nGael 4-8

The nine point winning margin was harsh on Clann who played their part in what was the championship game of the year at Hyde Park last Sunday. Late Brigid’s goals from Robbie Dolan and Ciaran Sugrue finally decided the issue after a titanic struggle.

  Brigid’s were the pre-match favourites but Clann hadn’t read that script and they matched their neighbours score for score until the dying minutes. Brigid’s were three points ahead before Fergus Lennon struck with a Clann goal in the 12th minute and when the same player scored a second goal nine minutes later, Clann led by four (2-2 to 0-4)

  But Brigid’s, for whom Shane Cunnane was outstanding, were always able to score excellent points from play. They led by a point, 0-10 to 2-3 at the break.

  Brigid’s scored their first goal five minutes into the second half, a well-taken effort from Tom O’Carroll, and they led by 1-10 to 2-3. Clann were level two minutes later when Conor Farrell converted a penalty after Sea Henry was pulled down.

  In the 50th minute, Brigid’s sub Darragh Murray scored a brilliant team goal to edge them ahead again following a score for score third period. But in the nature of this roller-coaster, it was Clann’s turn to score next and Michael Hanley blasted a rocket high into the Brigid’s net in the 52nd minute to level it once more.

  Sea Henry and Shane Cunnane exchanged points by the 54th minute but it was Brigid’s who finished best, with a number of subs having a huge impact on the game. Robbie Dolan and Ciaran Sugrue were on target late on to seal the title for the Kiltoom side.

  It was a pity there had to be a loser as this was underage football at its very best.

St. Brigid’s: Seamus Smith; Keelan Connor, Eoin Minagh, Darragh Murray (1-0); Pearse Frost, Cian McBrearty, Paul McGrath; John Leonard, Shane Cunnane (0-5, 2 frees); Rory Smith (0-2), Donnacha Gately (0-2), Ian O’Rourke (0-2, 1 free); Eoin Egan (0-1), Ciaran Sugrue (1-1), Brian Derwin (0-4, 2 frees). Subs: Ciaran Quinn for Leonard (h/t), Tom O’Carroll (1-0) for Gately (41), Robbie Dolan (1-0) for Smith (47), Donnacha Gately for Egan (54).

Clann na nGael: Sean Seery; Michael McManus, Oisin Lennon, Darran Duff; Adam Harney, Callum O’Brien, Sean Ryan; Dylan Sumner, Conor Farrell (1-2, 1-0 pen); David Fortune (0-2), Sea Henry (0-4, 2 frees), Fergus Lennon (2-0); Reece Moran, Paul McManus, Michael Hanley (1-0). Subs: Alex Francis for Seery (17), Neil Macken for Lennon (58), Aaron Wall for McManus (62).

Referee: Ollie Kelly