Locals to be honoured at Volunteers In Sport Awards

Three Roscommon volunteers – Máire Allen, Jacqueline McCormack (Special Olympics Roscommon) and Joe Moore (St. Aidan’s GAA) – are set to be honoured at the Federation of Irish Sport Volunteers in Sport Awards next week.

Máire and Jacqueline will be awarded a team Special Recognition Award and Joe will be awarded the Roscommon Volunteer award for the 2021 edition of the awards, which are supported by EBS.

Máire and Jacqueline have collectively dedicated over forty years to Roscommon Special Olympics.

Máire’s involvement has seen her become a devoted volunteer, keen to positively impact the lives of those around her. Leading by example, she takes part in any fundraising events and has coached gymnastics, trampolining, basketball, volleyball, swimming, and a host of other sports during her time.

  Jacqueline became a volunteer with Roscommon Special Olympics club fifteen years ago, and currently serves as the club’s chairperson. In this role, she has doubled membership numbers and vitally increased the range of activities available to the athletes. She also founded a young athlete Special Olympic Club, which provides young children with the opportunity to participate in a range of activities. Both Máire and Jacqueline have made enormous contributions to Special Olympics sport.

Meanwhile, Joe Moore has been a stalwart of St. Aidan’s GAA ever since the club’s inception in 1956. Since a Junior Championship win in 1966, in which Joe lined out as right wing-forward, the club has continued to grow from strength to strength, in no small part due to Joe’s herculean efforts on and off the pitch.

At his first ever club meeting, Joe was appointed as Club Secretary, remaining in that role for some time. He has also committed his time to refereeing, taking charge of the 1975 Roscommon senior final and replay between Roscommon Gaels and Castlerea St. Kevin’s. Today, Joe is still heavily involved in the club as Club President and as part of the Parks Committee, and is ever-present by the pitch on match day.

The Federation of Irish Sport Volunteers in Sport Awards will be streamed live each evening from 7 pm on the Federation of Irish Sport’s Facebook page.

On Tuesday, December 7th, the Leinster and Special Recognition Award will take place, while on Wednesday, December 8th, the Munster, Connacht and Special Recognition Awards will be announced, followed by Ulster on December 9th.

For more information on the awards, visit volunteersinsport.ie.